Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 24, 2013

Help feed a student

Pastor Jeff Newton tells a story that causes one pause.

On a Sunday evening in 2006, Trinity United Methodist Church hosted a free dinner. Newton, a part-time pastor at Trinity and Cassville United Methodist Church, watched as a young boy ate four hot dogs.

“You must be hungry,” Newton said to the boy. The boy said he hadn’t eaten lunch.

Newton asked whether the boy had breakfast. He said no.

The minister asked whether the boy had dinner Saturday. He said no.

After more questions, Newton learned the boy hadn’t eaten all weekend. His last meal was lunch at school on Friday.

Newton, executive director of Kokomo Urban Outreach, started a pilot program in May 2007 that provided bags of food for Elwood Haynes Elementary School students on free and reduced-priced lunches. The bags containing enough food for six meals were delivered on a Friday to the school.

It was a success. Now in its sixth year, Urban Outreach’s “buddy bags” program will begin delivering food this September for students at Taylor Primary School and Elwood Haynes, Boulevard, Lafayette Park, Pettit Park, Eastern, Western and Howard elementaries at the end of each week. Urban Outreach hopes to add Northwestern Elementary by second semester.

Not every child receiving a buddy bag would’ve gone without food every weekend. But most live with “food insecurity” — a limited availability of food.

Only a couple of weeks ago, the Indiana Institute for Working Families said poverty rates have increased for Hoosier children, with almost 46 percent now living in low-income families. In May, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce said Indiana had the 12th lowest poverty rate in the nation in 2000, but that it dropped to the 34th lowest by 2011.

Last year, Urban Outreach distributed 900 buddy bags a week. You can help. For just $120 — $15 per month — you can provide a weekend of food for a child.

Please get involved. No one in Kokomo should be hungry.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll