Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 24, 2013

Help feed a student

Pastor Jeff Newton tells a story that causes one pause.

On a Sunday evening in 2006, Trinity United Methodist Church hosted a free dinner. Newton, a part-time pastor at Trinity and Cassville United Methodist Church, watched as a young boy ate four hot dogs.

“You must be hungry,” Newton said to the boy. The boy said he hadn’t eaten lunch.

Newton asked whether the boy had breakfast. He said no.

The minister asked whether the boy had dinner Saturday. He said no.

After more questions, Newton learned the boy hadn’t eaten all weekend. His last meal was lunch at school on Friday.

Newton, executive director of Kokomo Urban Outreach, started a pilot program in May 2007 that provided bags of food for Elwood Haynes Elementary School students on free and reduced-priced lunches. The bags containing enough food for six meals were delivered on a Friday to the school.

It was a success. Now in its sixth year, Urban Outreach’s “buddy bags” program will begin delivering food this September for students at Taylor Primary School and Elwood Haynes, Boulevard, Lafayette Park, Pettit Park, Eastern, Western and Howard elementaries at the end of each week. Urban Outreach hopes to add Northwestern Elementary by second semester.

Not every child receiving a buddy bag would’ve gone without food every weekend. But most live with “food insecurity” — a limited availability of food.

Only a couple of weeks ago, the Indiana Institute for Working Families said poverty rates have increased for Hoosier children, with almost 46 percent now living in low-income families. In May, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce said Indiana had the 12th lowest poverty rate in the nation in 2000, but that it dropped to the 34th lowest by 2011.

Last year, Urban Outreach distributed 900 buddy bags a week. You can help. For just $120 — $15 per month — you can provide a weekend of food for a child.

Please get involved. No one in Kokomo should be hungry.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll