Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 28, 2013

Clean house in Congress

President Obama visited Illinois, Missouri and Florida last week, making impassioned speeches he hopes will draw the nation’s attention to the struggles of America’s middle class.

He spoke about college and housing costs, retirement security, health care, poverty and jobs. But some political analysts believe the president’s speeches on the economy were an opening salvo in the next battle over raising the federal debt limit.

Politico cited unnamed congressional sources, who said the U.S. will hit its borrowing ceiling sometime between October and the end of December. To stave off a debt default or another credit downgrade, John McCain and other Senate Republicans are working with Senate Democrats and the White House to reform, perhaps, entitlements and the tax code, and ease federal cuts that were implemented in the sequester, Politico said.

The news organization asked Rep. Paul Ryan, R-Wis., his thoughts on the debt limit plan of the Senate GOP.

“It doesn’t matter — we’re not going to do what they want to do,” the former vice presidential candidate told Politico. “It really doesn’t matter what they do. It doesn’t matter what John McCain and others do on the taxes and the rest.”

Gridlock is what we’ve all come to expect from Congress. That’s the reason America’s dissatisfaction with D.C. hit a new high last week.

An NBC News/Wall Street Journal poll found 83 percent of those surveyed disapproved of the job Congress is doing. The poll also showed the president’s job approval rating at 45 percent — the lowest it’s been since the last fight over the debt limit.

Americans watched the Senate do nothing to stiffen background checks for gun purchases, even after 20 5- and 6-year-olds were shot to death in their elementary school. They watched with resignation as immigration reform stalled in the House of Representatives.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll