Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 16, 2013

Safer way to school

The issue: Galveston’s two-year-old sidewalk project.

Our view: Officials must find the money to complete the work. If they do nothing, it still will cost the town $40,000 in engineering fees.

Nearly two-and-a-half years after a $220,000 Safe Routes to School grant was awarded, work still hasn’t begun on new sidewalks along two streets leading to Galveston Elementary School.

Officials say Maple and Woodland streets were identified as two of the best options to make the children’s journey to and from school less treacherous. Neither street has sidewalks, so the kids walking back and forth to school often walk on roadways. Even on these winter mornings when it’s still dark outside.

The town council last week discussed what steps need to be taken to move this project forward. But whatever is decided, it’s going to cost the town money.

The federal grant administered by the Indiana Department of Transportation was supposed to cover the complete cost of about 3,000 feet of new sidewalk. But material and labor prices increased last year, driving costs $121,000 above the $220,000 grant.

Preliminary engineering for the project was finished last year, but council members decided not to follow through. The $350,000 price tag was just too expensive.

After Marty Spees of Fleis and Vandenbrink Engineering told council members the town would have to repay the state $40,000 for the engineering costs, the time frame to accept that $350,000 bid had closed.

Spees told council members last week a rebid of the project could cost the town between $100,000 and $140,000 more than the $220,000 grant. INDOT is scheduled to accept a new bid in May.

Pat Gunnell, the town council president, said last week that council members haven’t decided where the additional funding will come from.

The Safe Routes to Schools projects have two purposes: They are designed to make those daily walks back and forth to school less dangerous. They are also designed to make the walks more likely.

Getting kids off the couch and exercising is an important goal in a time when the nation finds more and more kids struggling with their weight, and if children are using those sidewalks to walk back and forth to school, they might start using them at other times, too.

And, of course, there’s no rule that says the sidewalks must be used only by youngsters. More than a few adults could also use a bit of exercise.

We encourage Galveston officials to find the money to complete the sidewalk project. It will cost them $40,000 if they do nothing, and as much as $140,000 if they move ahead.

Sidewalks on Maple and Woodland streets will be of benefit to town residents of all ages.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll