Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 16, 2013

Safer way to school

The issue: Galveston’s two-year-old sidewalk project.

Our view: Officials must find the money to complete the work. If they do nothing, it still will cost the town $40,000 in engineering fees.

Nearly two-and-a-half years after a $220,000 Safe Routes to School grant was awarded, work still hasn’t begun on new sidewalks along two streets leading to Galveston Elementary School.

Officials say Maple and Woodland streets were identified as two of the best options to make the children’s journey to and from school less treacherous. Neither street has sidewalks, so the kids walking back and forth to school often walk on roadways. Even on these winter mornings when it’s still dark outside.

The town council last week discussed what steps need to be taken to move this project forward. But whatever is decided, it’s going to cost the town money.

The federal grant administered by the Indiana Department of Transportation was supposed to cover the complete cost of about 3,000 feet of new sidewalk. But material and labor prices increased last year, driving costs $121,000 above the $220,000 grant.

Preliminary engineering for the project was finished last year, but council members decided not to follow through. The $350,000 price tag was just too expensive.

After Marty Spees of Fleis and Vandenbrink Engineering told council members the town would have to repay the state $40,000 for the engineering costs, the time frame to accept that $350,000 bid had closed.

Spees told council members last week a rebid of the project could cost the town between $100,000 and $140,000 more than the $220,000 grant. INDOT is scheduled to accept a new bid in May.

Pat Gunnell, the town council president, said last week that council members haven’t decided where the additional funding will come from.

The Safe Routes to Schools projects have two purposes: They are designed to make those daily walks back and forth to school less dangerous. They are also designed to make the walks more likely.

Getting kids off the couch and exercising is an important goal in a time when the nation finds more and more kids struggling with their weight, and if children are using those sidewalks to walk back and forth to school, they might start using them at other times, too.

And, of course, there’s no rule that says the sidewalks must be used only by youngsters. More than a few adults could also use a bit of exercise.

We encourage Galveston officials to find the money to complete the sidewalk project. It will cost them $40,000 if they do nothing, and as much as $140,000 if they move ahead.

Sidewalks on Maple and Woodland streets will be of benefit to town residents of all ages.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll