Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 5, 2013

Editorial - Feb. 5, 2013: Indy deserves 2nd big game

The issue: The Super Bowl.

Our view: Indianapolis left a great impression on thousands of visitors last year. Here’s hoping it gets another crack at wowing the nation in the coming years.

 

By all accounts, the Super Bowl held in Indianapolis last year was a grand success. Host committee representatives say total attendance at the Super Bowl village topped 1 million people.

The event was the culmination of literally decades of effort, a transformation that began long before city leaders ever dreamed of bidding for the Super Bowl.

In the 1980s, the city built a domed stadium, and in 1984, it lured the Colts from Baltimore. The city also began billing itself as the nation’s amateur sports capital, and it hosted the Pan Am Games in 1987.

The city that had fewer than 500 hotel rooms downtown in 1970 now has more than 6,500, and about a dozen new hotels have opened in the past decade, including a 1,000-room JW Marriott. The number of downtown restaurants and bars has doubled to 300 in the past 10 years, and there are more than 200 shops.

On any given night, visitors can travel just a few blocks to see the Pacers at Bankers Life Fieldhouse, stage productions at Indiana Repertory Theatre or live music at Old National Centre or White River State Park. The downtown canal walk offers pedal boats, gondolas and bicycles for rent.

Tourism officials say visits to downtown attractions have increased 83 percent since 1994.

The Super Bowl still seemed a huge reach, but now that Indianapolis has its first behind it, city leaders are thinking about the next one.

Hosting football’s big game was a great experience for Indianapolis, and all of the preparation clearly paid off. Visitor after visitor complimented the event’s organizers on how smoothly things went.

And a power outage didn’t stop play for more than 30 minutes.

Those responsible for putting the Indianapolis event together deserved those accolades. Without question, they did an excellent job.

It’s worth noting, of course, that they also got incredibly lucky with the weather. Temperatures were well above normal, boosting the crowds in the Super Bowl Village by thousands of people. Late January and early February could just as easily have brought a blizzard or sub-zero temperatures.

Still, many of the activities were indoors, and those would have been successful regardless of the weather.

Indianapolis clearly proved it can play on the big stage. The city’s next bid for a Super Bowl should get favorable consideration.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll