Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 5, 2013

Editorial - Feb. 5, 2013: Indy deserves 2nd big game

The issue: The Super Bowl.

Our view: Indianapolis left a great impression on thousands of visitors last year. Here’s hoping it gets another crack at wowing the nation in the coming years.

 

By all accounts, the Super Bowl held in Indianapolis last year was a grand success. Host committee representatives say total attendance at the Super Bowl village topped 1 million people.

The event was the culmination of literally decades of effort, a transformation that began long before city leaders ever dreamed of bidding for the Super Bowl.

In the 1980s, the city built a domed stadium, and in 1984, it lured the Colts from Baltimore. The city also began billing itself as the nation’s amateur sports capital, and it hosted the Pan Am Games in 1987.

The city that had fewer than 500 hotel rooms downtown in 1970 now has more than 6,500, and about a dozen new hotels have opened in the past decade, including a 1,000-room JW Marriott. The number of downtown restaurants and bars has doubled to 300 in the past 10 years, and there are more than 200 shops.

On any given night, visitors can travel just a few blocks to see the Pacers at Bankers Life Fieldhouse, stage productions at Indiana Repertory Theatre or live music at Old National Centre or White River State Park. The downtown canal walk offers pedal boats, gondolas and bicycles for rent.

Tourism officials say visits to downtown attractions have increased 83 percent since 1994.

The Super Bowl still seemed a huge reach, but now that Indianapolis has its first behind it, city leaders are thinking about the next one.

Hosting football’s big game was a great experience for Indianapolis, and all of the preparation clearly paid off. Visitor after visitor complimented the event’s organizers on how smoothly things went.

And a power outage didn’t stop play for more than 30 minutes.

Those responsible for putting the Indianapolis event together deserved those accolades. Without question, they did an excellent job.

It’s worth noting, of course, that they also got incredibly lucky with the weather. Temperatures were well above normal, boosting the crowds in the Super Bowl Village by thousands of people. Late January and early February could just as easily have brought a blizzard or sub-zero temperatures.

Still, many of the activities were indoors, and those would have been successful regardless of the weather.

Indianapolis clearly proved it can play on the big stage. The city’s next bid for a Super Bowl should get favorable consideration.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll