Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 30, 2013

July 30, 2013: Letters to the editor

Do you want county covered by turbines?

People of Tipton County: I come to you to ask each of you to take the time to think of a future in Tipton County when you won’t be able to look in any direction without seeing wind turbines.

I know a lot of you are tired of hearing the arguing back and forth over this issue and feel you have no dog in this fight. But you most certainly do if you just take the time to think for just a minute or two.

As a friend of mine told me, can you imagine, as your child grows up, wanting to capture the loving moments on film. If we don’t repeal this wind ordinance, almost every picture we take of the children outdoors will have a giant wind turbine in the background.

The plan here, folks, by the wind companies — and supported by some of your elected officials and a few landowners — is to cover your beautiful county with 800 of these giants! This is not a novelty but pure destruction of our countryside.

The time is rapidly approaching for a public meeting that will decide the future for many of us for a lifetime. I am 58 years old and maybe just a little biased on the county we live in today. But I would like my grandchildren and all of your children to be able to enjoy the beautiful county the good Lord gave us!

We can find all the information you want, pro and con, but it all boils down to no one knows for sure what the long-term medical problems are with these things. People from around the world are opening up and telling of all kinds of issues. Most experts will admit there needs to be studies to understand what impacts can happen to people around these things.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll