Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 3, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 3, 2012

Kokomo — Gratitude to the community

Deborah Hatheway sends this thank-you to the community, on behalf of the family of Marine Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell:

“On behalf of the family of Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell – mother, Cheryl (Turnpaugh) Atwell; brother, Dustin Atwell; sister, Erin Atwell Riedel; grandmother, Shirley (Turnpaugh) Oody; aunt, Deborah (Turnpaugh) Hatheway; and special cousins, Danielle Brewster and Jaime Kurowsky – we would like to express our deepest gratitude and appreciation to the community of Kokomo, in honoring our beloved Bradley, a true American hero. Through our immense grief and suffering, we are truly humbled.

“The family would like to especially thank Fr. Ted Dudzinski of St. Joan of Arc for his tremendous support, Jeff Stout of Shirley & Stout Funeral Home, Pastor Steve Cole and Chapel Hill Church, and also the Patriot Riders for leading our Bradley home.

“A very special thank-you to all of Brad’s boyhood friends and Taylor and Tri-Cental classmates. And most of all, his Marine brothers and sisters he served with. He loved you all, as you were his family too!

“May God bless each of you.”

 

An announcement, with regrets

Kay Roesener, on behalf of the members of Kappa Chapter of Psi Iota Xi Sorority, sends this Cheer to the community for long supporting its Holiday Walk:

“For the past 39 years, the holiday season has been ushered in by the annual Psi Iota Xi Holiday Walk. This year, it is with regret that we will not be able to offer this event.

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the local florists, gift shops, nurseries and garden shops that have so generously donated their time, talents and money to help us present this annual event. Also, we would like to give a special thanks to the many homeowners who were so willing to open their homes and be a big part of our fundraiser.

“We appreciate all the many people in Kokomo and the surrounding area who enjoyed touring the decorated homes. The money raised by ticket sales has helped for many years maintain our free Speech and Hearing Clinic for Howard County preschoolers. The clinic still will be supported by our remaining projects.

“It is our hope that the members of our Kokomo community will support our local businesses as holiday shopping time approaches, as well as our remaining Psi Iota Xi projects.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll