Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 3, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 3, 2012

Kokomo — Gratitude to the community

Deborah Hatheway sends this thank-you to the community, on behalf of the family of Marine Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell:

“On behalf of the family of Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell – mother, Cheryl (Turnpaugh) Atwell; brother, Dustin Atwell; sister, Erin Atwell Riedel; grandmother, Shirley (Turnpaugh) Oody; aunt, Deborah (Turnpaugh) Hatheway; and special cousins, Danielle Brewster and Jaime Kurowsky – we would like to express our deepest gratitude and appreciation to the community of Kokomo, in honoring our beloved Bradley, a true American hero. Through our immense grief and suffering, we are truly humbled.

“The family would like to especially thank Fr. Ted Dudzinski of St. Joan of Arc for his tremendous support, Jeff Stout of Shirley & Stout Funeral Home, Pastor Steve Cole and Chapel Hill Church, and also the Patriot Riders for leading our Bradley home.

“A very special thank-you to all of Brad’s boyhood friends and Taylor and Tri-Cental classmates. And most of all, his Marine brothers and sisters he served with. He loved you all, as you were his family too!

“May God bless each of you.”

 

An announcement, with regrets

Kay Roesener, on behalf of the members of Kappa Chapter of Psi Iota Xi Sorority, sends this Cheer to the community for long supporting its Holiday Walk:

“For the past 39 years, the holiday season has been ushered in by the annual Psi Iota Xi Holiday Walk. This year, it is with regret that we will not be able to offer this event.

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the local florists, gift shops, nurseries and garden shops that have so generously donated their time, talents and money to help us present this annual event. Also, we would like to give a special thanks to the many homeowners who were so willing to open their homes and be a big part of our fundraiser.

“We appreciate all the many people in Kokomo and the surrounding area who enjoyed touring the decorated homes. The money raised by ticket sales has helped for many years maintain our free Speech and Hearing Clinic for Howard County preschoolers. The clinic still will be supported by our remaining projects.

“It is our hope that the members of our Kokomo community will support our local businesses as holiday shopping time approaches, as well as our remaining Psi Iota Xi projects.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll