Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 3, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 3, 2012

Kokomo — Gratitude to the community

Deborah Hatheway sends this thank-you to the community, on behalf of the family of Marine Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell:

“On behalf of the family of Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell – mother, Cheryl (Turnpaugh) Atwell; brother, Dustin Atwell; sister, Erin Atwell Riedel; grandmother, Shirley (Turnpaugh) Oody; aunt, Deborah (Turnpaugh) Hatheway; and special cousins, Danielle Brewster and Jaime Kurowsky – we would like to express our deepest gratitude and appreciation to the community of Kokomo, in honoring our beloved Bradley, a true American hero. Through our immense grief and suffering, we are truly humbled.

“The family would like to especially thank Fr. Ted Dudzinski of St. Joan of Arc for his tremendous support, Jeff Stout of Shirley & Stout Funeral Home, Pastor Steve Cole and Chapel Hill Church, and also the Patriot Riders for leading our Bradley home.

“A very special thank-you to all of Brad’s boyhood friends and Taylor and Tri-Cental classmates. And most of all, his Marine brothers and sisters he served with. He loved you all, as you were his family too!

“May God bless each of you.”

 

An announcement, with regrets

Kay Roesener, on behalf of the members of Kappa Chapter of Psi Iota Xi Sorority, sends this Cheer to the community for long supporting its Holiday Walk:

“For the past 39 years, the holiday season has been ushered in by the annual Psi Iota Xi Holiday Walk. This year, it is with regret that we will not be able to offer this event.

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the local florists, gift shops, nurseries and garden shops that have so generously donated their time, talents and money to help us present this annual event. Also, we would like to give a special thanks to the many homeowners who were so willing to open their homes and be a big part of our fundraiser.

“We appreciate all the many people in Kokomo and the surrounding area who enjoyed touring the decorated homes. The money raised by ticket sales has helped for many years maintain our free Speech and Hearing Clinic for Howard County preschoolers. The clinic still will be supported by our remaining projects.

“It is our hope that the members of our Kokomo community will support our local businesses as holiday shopping time approaches, as well as our remaining Psi Iota Xi projects.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll