Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 3, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Nov. 3, 2012

Kokomo — Gratitude to the community

Deborah Hatheway sends this thank-you to the community, on behalf of the family of Marine Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell:

“On behalf of the family of Sgt. Bradley W. Atwell – mother, Cheryl (Turnpaugh) Atwell; brother, Dustin Atwell; sister, Erin Atwell Riedel; grandmother, Shirley (Turnpaugh) Oody; aunt, Deborah (Turnpaugh) Hatheway; and special cousins, Danielle Brewster and Jaime Kurowsky – we would like to express our deepest gratitude and appreciation to the community of Kokomo, in honoring our beloved Bradley, a true American hero. Through our immense grief and suffering, we are truly humbled.

“The family would like to especially thank Fr. Ted Dudzinski of St. Joan of Arc for his tremendous support, Jeff Stout of Shirley & Stout Funeral Home, Pastor Steve Cole and Chapel Hill Church, and also the Patriot Riders for leading our Bradley home.

“A very special thank-you to all of Brad’s boyhood friends and Taylor and Tri-Cental classmates. And most of all, his Marine brothers and sisters he served with. He loved you all, as you were his family too!

“May God bless each of you.”

 

An announcement, with regrets

Kay Roesener, on behalf of the members of Kappa Chapter of Psi Iota Xi Sorority, sends this Cheer to the community for long supporting its Holiday Walk:

“For the past 39 years, the holiday season has been ushered in by the annual Psi Iota Xi Holiday Walk. This year, it is with regret that we will not be able to offer this event.

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the local florists, gift shops, nurseries and garden shops that have so generously donated their time, talents and money to help us present this annual event. Also, we would like to give a special thanks to the many homeowners who were so willing to open their homes and be a big part of our fundraiser.

“We appreciate all the many people in Kokomo and the surrounding area who enjoyed touring the decorated homes. The money raised by ticket sales has helped for many years maintain our free Speech and Hearing Clinic for Howard County preschoolers. The clinic still will be supported by our remaining projects.

“It is our hope that the members of our Kokomo community will support our local businesses as holiday shopping time approaches, as well as our remaining Psi Iota Xi projects.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll