Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 6, 2012

A new vampire is among us

— Books, movies, TV shows and video games have given new life to vampires, those mythological creatures who need the lifeblood of humans to survive.

Today we have a different type of vampire walking among us.

Unlike the delightful people who bring joy to our lives with positive, uplifting energy, the modern vampire leaves us feeling stressed or guilty or mentally exhausted.

They are the vampires who drain us of positive emotional energy and replace it with negativity and dismay. They are energy vampires and, sadly, they are all around us.

We all know a sob sister (or brother) who always considers themselves the victim. The world is always against her or him and they’ll recount every horrible thing that has happened in their lives, wallowing in self pity and expecting your sympathy for every perceived slight.

Perhaps even more common is the “blamer” who dishes out endless servings of guilt.

They didn’t fail. Someone else caused them to fail. Their parents didn’t nurture them. Their neighbors don’t trust them. Their boss doesn’t like them.

And then there’s the drama king (or queen), that person who sits behind you in church who claims he or she almost died from a rare disease that wasn’t diagnosed.

Without doubt, today’s most prolific energy vampire is the Facebook addict who lives on the roller coaster of emotion – life is incredibly bad or unbelievably good and it changes in 15-minute cycles.

No matter which kind of energy vampire we find in our lives, the good news is that we’re allowed to walk away or to turn off the cellphone or computer.

Is that discourteous? Is it insensitive? Are we afraid of offending those persons? So how can we remove ourselves from a conversation that will drain us of positive energy?

If leaving is not an option, we can start by taking a deep breath or two and then mentally recalling a positive image like a beautiful sunset or the smile of a child.

No one enjoys feeling hemmed in or zapped or stressed out. We don’t have to submit to these energy vampires, even among family members and friends.

The hardest part is discerning between the real and the imagined. We know that some people are legitimately entitled to our sympathies, our thoughts and prayers, and our encouragement.

As a general rule, those with a crisis or complaint a day should be avoided.

They may look normal but they are energy vampires.

— The Morehead (Ky.) News

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll