Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 6, 2012

A new vampire is among us

— Books, movies, TV shows and video games have given new life to vampires, those mythological creatures who need the lifeblood of humans to survive.

Today we have a different type of vampire walking among us.

Unlike the delightful people who bring joy to our lives with positive, uplifting energy, the modern vampire leaves us feeling stressed or guilty or mentally exhausted.

They are the vampires who drain us of positive emotional energy and replace it with negativity and dismay. They are energy vampires and, sadly, they are all around us.

We all know a sob sister (or brother) who always considers themselves the victim. The world is always against her or him and they’ll recount every horrible thing that has happened in their lives, wallowing in self pity and expecting your sympathy for every perceived slight.

Perhaps even more common is the “blamer” who dishes out endless servings of guilt.

They didn’t fail. Someone else caused them to fail. Their parents didn’t nurture them. Their neighbors don’t trust them. Their boss doesn’t like them.

And then there’s the drama king (or queen), that person who sits behind you in church who claims he or she almost died from a rare disease that wasn’t diagnosed.

Without doubt, today’s most prolific energy vampire is the Facebook addict who lives on the roller coaster of emotion – life is incredibly bad or unbelievably good and it changes in 15-minute cycles.

No matter which kind of energy vampire we find in our lives, the good news is that we’re allowed to walk away or to turn off the cellphone or computer.

Is that discourteous? Is it insensitive? Are we afraid of offending those persons? So how can we remove ourselves from a conversation that will drain us of positive energy?

If leaving is not an option, we can start by taking a deep breath or two and then mentally recalling a positive image like a beautiful sunset or the smile of a child.

No one enjoys feeling hemmed in or zapped or stressed out. We don’t have to submit to these energy vampires, even among family members and friends.

The hardest part is discerning between the real and the imagined. We know that some people are legitimately entitled to our sympathies, our thoughts and prayers, and our encouragement.

As a general rule, those with a crisis or complaint a day should be avoided.

They may look normal but they are energy vampires.

— The Morehead (Ky.) News

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll