Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 13, 2013

April 13, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

In celebration of Jane Trueblood

Marge Scionti Johnson of Kokomo sends this Cheer for Jane Trueblood:

“I met Jane in the late ’70s. She introduced me to the Wildcat Canoe Club. I was taught to paddle and led to the rivers, where together we explored rivers, streams and creeks. We camped, we sang around campfires and went to sleep to the sound of water splashing on the shore.

“Jane had a great love, a passion, for the water, for nature, for being a part of it. She was not one to stand on a bridge, looking down and admiring the water sparkling in the sun. Jane had to be down in it.

“It was the same with digging in the earth, feeling it, smelling it. Never one to just walk through a flower show and admire the blossoms, Jane dug into her garden and brought forth flowers. She had a passion, boundless enthusiasm for her flowers and for the earth.

“Much can be said about the wonder of Jane Trueblood. What is most outstanding to me in Jane was her zest for life, her enthusiasm, her passion for living, her great love of water and earth.

“It is terribly sad that her precious life was cut short so early. But how splendid that, while alive, she truly lived.”

‘Never seen a company like Scott’s’

Beverly J. Bell of Kokomo sends this Cheer for Scott’s Home Health:

“I want to thank everyone at Scott’s Home Health for their kindness and help they have shown to me.

“I worked for 36 years in home health and nursing homes. I have never seen a company like Scott’s Home Health. They are No. 1.

“I have never felt as comfortable as I do with Scott’s. Ashley, Chrissy and Autumn, the aides, and also Tammie are tops. They show they care and are concerned about their clients.

“I have not met any of the office help, but Amy, and Jennifer, the nurse, are also great. When I call the office, they all listen and take time to hear my concerns and questions. I want to thank Shawn and the rest for the very best care I have received. I would tell everybody who needs help to call Scott’s Home Health first of all.

“Thanks, everyone, for your kindness that you show me every day.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll