Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 21, 2013

Play it safe with water

— We’ve had our fair share of rain lately. So much so, the Kokomo Fire Department rescued people from their homes in rafts Friday. And if the weatherman is right, we’re getting more this week. That won’t help the situation any.

By 9:45 a.m. Friday, the Wildcat Creek was at 17.44 feet. And it was rising.

The city of Kokomo immediately made arrangements with the Red Cross to open a shelter at 210 W. Walnut St., and Kokomo-Center Schools to open Memorial Gym. City buses were made available to get people to the Red Cross shelter. The city announced nine areas where roads were impassable.

Both city and county governments did an excellent job Friday communicating valuable information.

With this much rain, there’s no way sewers and drains can cope with the demand, and the ground is too saturated to lend a helping hand. So the overflow ends up standing in the roadway.

And every spring, we see law enforcement’s warnings about not driving through standing water go ignored.

Just 6 inches of water will reach the bottom of most passenger cars. This depth can cause loss of control or possible stalling if water is sucked into the exhaust or washes into the air intake.

When the water reaches as little as a foot deep, wheels can lose their grip on the road and cause you to lose control of your vehicle.

Two feet of flowing water can sweep away most vehicles.

Do we tell you this to scare you? Eh, maybe. If we do, it’s because we know most people don’t see the threats of standing water as real, having that “It’ll never happen to me” mentality. It’s that mentality that tells them it’s OK to head through that standing water. And while more often than not, nothing goes wrong, you’d hate to be the exception to the rule.

But now if you talk about a threat to their wallet, people are apt to pay a little more attention.

So, let’s talk about your wallet.

Even if you walk away unscathed, your car will likely not be so lucky. If water gets into your engine, it can cause severe damage — severe enough that it might require your engine to be stripped down and repaired. If that sounds expensive, it should.

So, like law enforcement says every year, don’t drive through standing water.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll