Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 21, 2013

Play it safe with water

— We’ve had our fair share of rain lately. So much so, the Kokomo Fire Department rescued people from their homes in rafts Friday. And if the weatherman is right, we’re getting more this week. That won’t help the situation any.

By 9:45 a.m. Friday, the Wildcat Creek was at 17.44 feet. And it was rising.

The city of Kokomo immediately made arrangements with the Red Cross to open a shelter at 210 W. Walnut St., and Kokomo-Center Schools to open Memorial Gym. City buses were made available to get people to the Red Cross shelter. The city announced nine areas where roads were impassable.

Both city and county governments did an excellent job Friday communicating valuable information.

With this much rain, there’s no way sewers and drains can cope with the demand, and the ground is too saturated to lend a helping hand. So the overflow ends up standing in the roadway.

And every spring, we see law enforcement’s warnings about not driving through standing water go ignored.

Just 6 inches of water will reach the bottom of most passenger cars. This depth can cause loss of control or possible stalling if water is sucked into the exhaust or washes into the air intake.

When the water reaches as little as a foot deep, wheels can lose their grip on the road and cause you to lose control of your vehicle.

Two feet of flowing water can sweep away most vehicles.

Do we tell you this to scare you? Eh, maybe. If we do, it’s because we know most people don’t see the threats of standing water as real, having that “It’ll never happen to me” mentality. It’s that mentality that tells them it’s OK to head through that standing water. And while more often than not, nothing goes wrong, you’d hate to be the exception to the rule.

But now if you talk about a threat to their wallet, people are apt to pay a little more attention.

So, let’s talk about your wallet.

Even if you walk away unscathed, your car will likely not be so lucky. If water gets into your engine, it can cause severe damage — severe enough that it might require your engine to be stripped down and repaired. If that sounds expensive, it should.

So, like law enforcement says every year, don’t drive through standing water.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll