Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 12, 2013

Letter to the Editor: March 12, 2013

Why are they called wind farms?

I think by now, most have heard of the arrival of Industrial Wind Turbines (IWTs) in Tipton, Howard, Grant and Madison counties. These projects are called “wind farms,” because, I assume, the idea is to harvest the wind to “grow” electricity. However, the similarity stops there. The idea may have an analogy to farming, but the implementation does not.

These IWTs top out at 492 feet. The blades sweep an area bigger than a Boeing 747, and the little match-box-size thingy sitting behind the hub is actually the size of a three-car garage. So think of constructing 94 three-car-garage-sized industrial buildings in the Prairie Breeze area that are designed to run 24/7, 365 days a year.

However, these are worse than a typical business. This is because, in other places, wind farms have resulted in property value loss, produced shadow flicker and caused light pollution with hundreds of red blinking lights. Industrial wind turbines cause nuisances with audible noise, and the inaudible noise they produce (infrasound, aka low frequency noise) is known to cause severe health issues in some people. One would think an industrial project of this magnitude would require all kinds of scrutiny, including industrial zoning and environmental impact studies. Don’t be silly. None are required because it is a “wind farm.” Tipton County officials have decided that agriculture zoning is just fine, and those endangered Indiana bats, trust us, they will do just fine. This reminds me of the health supplement infomercials claiming the product to be safe because they are “natural.” Well, cyanide is natural, but that doesn’t make it safe. I wonder how different the process would be if it was Duke Energy trying to dot our neighborhoods with up to six natural gas-fired electric generators per square mile.

In reality, this industrial project has nothing to do with farming. A lease-holding farmer will not – actually is not allowed to — touch one of these IWTs as he goes about his farming chores. A typical lease-holding farmer does not know how to erect, use or maintain an IWT and neither does he own a combine to harvest the electricity.

The biggest claim the proponents make is the money that will go to Tipton County schools. Well, the enrollment already is going down, and once these IWTs are here, no one else will want to move to Tipton County, especially those with young children. Tri-Central may end up with some nice buildings – as that is all the money could be used for — but what good would it be with NO students?

Some of the leaseholders in the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm have expressed an attitude typified by a farm owner who called the Male Call show on WWKI on Feb 27. She stated, in short, that they own the land, and they have the right to do whatever they please. This is partially true. Yes, one is allowed to do whatever they please as long as their “doing” does not harm their neighbor. Even Tipton County affords this protection to the neighbors.

IWTs totally go against the reasons people like me built homes in beautiful rural Tipton County. Ironically, most of the residential lots are sold off by farmland owners, usually touting the quiet, serene rural landscape filled with wildlife. I have an October 2012 real estate book offered free at most grocery stores in our area. One such ad reads, “very nice building lots in a peaceful and rural subdivision in Tri-Central School District … build your dream home.” Another one reads, “Nestled in the scenic countryside.”

My wife and I saw an ad similar to this almost 20 years ago and built our dream home in four wooded acres. We enjoy the quiet and the sounds produced by nature. As I write, a screech owl is making the twirling mating call. Dark night skies are great for star gazing, and wildlife is plentiful. I treasure every moment now like never before because I realize how much there is to lose.

Imran Malik, Russiaville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll