Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 14, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 14, 2013

Will wind run off our biggest industry?

The seed industry depends on pollination to create the next generation of seed. But they depend on the pollen to come from the male row of corn next to the female rows. Not from the field corn three miles away.

Industrial wind turbines create a disturbance in the wind patterns for three to four miles.

Tipton County is home to a number of seed-producing businesses:

Legg Seeds – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Monsanto – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Pierce Grain – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Becks Seeds – juwi wants to surround its Tipton County fields with industrial wind turbines.

Campbell Seeds – juwi want to surround its fields with industrial wind turbines.

Pioneer Seeds – E-on wants to surround its Tipton County fields with industrial wind turbines.

Are the IWTs going to run the biggest industry the county has off to another country like Brazil? Has anyone thought about why none of the above seed companies have joined the industrial wind turbine generation? Or has the industrial wind turbine generation thought about running their farm with Brazilian seed and a $600-per-bushel added fee for transportation?

Let’s support our local industry that truly is agricultural in nature.

Say no to the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm. Say no to further wind farm development in Tipton County.

Show your opposition by wearing white to the BZA hearing at 5 p.m. on March 20 at the Tipton High School auditorium. And speak out against the plan for wind farm development in the county.

John West, Sharpsville

 

Preparing taxes a waste of time, money

Have you completed your 2012 income tax form(s) yet? How long did you spend gathering all your receipts needed to prepare your income tax return? If you prepared your own tax return, how much more time was required? If you engaged a professional tax preparer, how much did it cost you? Just complying with the income tax is a real burden. Doesn’t this bother you just a little bit?

In a FairTax White Paper written by Karen Walby, Ph.D. and revised in 2012, one finds for every $4 paid in income tax by individuals, it costs the tax payer $5. For businesses it’s even worse; it costs the business $143 to send $100 to Uncle Sam. A staggering $431 billion annually is wasted just paying our tax bill. And the mental anguish for months as well as lost sleep; it’s so unnecessary.

If the income tax was replaced with the FairTax, the government would receive the same tax money, we wouldn’t waste $431 billion annually, and there would be no tax return forms to complete. April 15 would become just another nice spring day. Yes, America can have this.

Call and email your representative and senators; tell them you want the income tax replaced with the FairTax.

Glen E. Terrell (ggeett37@gmail.com), Arlington, TX

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll