Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 14, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 14, 2013

Will wind run off our biggest industry?

The seed industry depends on pollination to create the next generation of seed. But they depend on the pollen to come from the male row of corn next to the female rows. Not from the field corn three miles away.

Industrial wind turbines create a disturbance in the wind patterns for three to four miles.

Tipton County is home to a number of seed-producing businesses:

Legg Seeds – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Monsanto – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Pierce Grain – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Becks Seeds – juwi wants to surround its Tipton County fields with industrial wind turbines.

Campbell Seeds – juwi want to surround its fields with industrial wind turbines.

Pioneer Seeds – E-on wants to surround its Tipton County fields with industrial wind turbines.

Are the IWTs going to run the biggest industry the county has off to another country like Brazil? Has anyone thought about why none of the above seed companies have joined the industrial wind turbine generation? Or has the industrial wind turbine generation thought about running their farm with Brazilian seed and a $600-per-bushel added fee for transportation?

Let’s support our local industry that truly is agricultural in nature.

Say no to the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm. Say no to further wind farm development in Tipton County.

Show your opposition by wearing white to the BZA hearing at 5 p.m. on March 20 at the Tipton High School auditorium. And speak out against the plan for wind farm development in the county.

John West, Sharpsville

 

Preparing taxes a waste of time, money

Have you completed your 2012 income tax form(s) yet? How long did you spend gathering all your receipts needed to prepare your income tax return? If you prepared your own tax return, how much more time was required? If you engaged a professional tax preparer, how much did it cost you? Just complying with the income tax is a real burden. Doesn’t this bother you just a little bit?

In a FairTax White Paper written by Karen Walby, Ph.D. and revised in 2012, one finds for every $4 paid in income tax by individuals, it costs the tax payer $5. For businesses it’s even worse; it costs the business $143 to send $100 to Uncle Sam. A staggering $431 billion annually is wasted just paying our tax bill. And the mental anguish for months as well as lost sleep; it’s so unnecessary.

If the income tax was replaced with the FairTax, the government would receive the same tax money, we wouldn’t waste $431 billion annually, and there would be no tax return forms to complete. April 15 would become just another nice spring day. Yes, America can have this.

Call and email your representative and senators; tell them you want the income tax replaced with the FairTax.

Glen E. Terrell (ggeett37@gmail.com), Arlington, TX

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll