Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 14, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 14, 2013

Will wind run off our biggest industry?

The seed industry depends on pollination to create the next generation of seed. But they depend on the pollen to come from the male row of corn next to the female rows. Not from the field corn three miles away.

Industrial wind turbines create a disturbance in the wind patterns for three to four miles.

Tipton County is home to a number of seed-producing businesses:

Legg Seeds – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Monsanto – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Pierce Grain – Surrounded by industrial wind turbines

Becks Seeds – juwi wants to surround its Tipton County fields with industrial wind turbines.

Campbell Seeds – juwi want to surround its fields with industrial wind turbines.

Pioneer Seeds – E-on wants to surround its Tipton County fields with industrial wind turbines.

Are the IWTs going to run the biggest industry the county has off to another country like Brazil? Has anyone thought about why none of the above seed companies have joined the industrial wind turbine generation? Or has the industrial wind turbine generation thought about running their farm with Brazilian seed and a $600-per-bushel added fee for transportation?

Let’s support our local industry that truly is agricultural in nature.

Say no to the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm. Say no to further wind farm development in Tipton County.

Show your opposition by wearing white to the BZA hearing at 5 p.m. on March 20 at the Tipton High School auditorium. And speak out against the plan for wind farm development in the county.

John West, Sharpsville

 

Preparing taxes a waste of time, money

Have you completed your 2012 income tax form(s) yet? How long did you spend gathering all your receipts needed to prepare your income tax return? If you prepared your own tax return, how much more time was required? If you engaged a professional tax preparer, how much did it cost you? Just complying with the income tax is a real burden. Doesn’t this bother you just a little bit?

In a FairTax White Paper written by Karen Walby, Ph.D. and revised in 2012, one finds for every $4 paid in income tax by individuals, it costs the tax payer $5. For businesses it’s even worse; it costs the business $143 to send $100 to Uncle Sam. A staggering $431 billion annually is wasted just paying our tax bill. And the mental anguish for months as well as lost sleep; it’s so unnecessary.

If the income tax was replaced with the FairTax, the government would receive the same tax money, we wouldn’t waste $431 billion annually, and there would be no tax return forms to complete. April 15 would become just another nice spring day. Yes, America can have this.

Call and email your representative and senators; tell them you want the income tax replaced with the FairTax.

Glen E. Terrell (ggeett37@gmail.com), Arlington, TX

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll