Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 27, 2013

FAITH BRAUTIGAM: Library exhibit will make you think

Main library showcasing Spirit of Competition in July.

Winner. Loser. No matter the context, each of those words packs a powerful punch.

Anyone who has ever watched the Olympics can attest to the universal nature of human competition. When we hear the word “compete,” athletes probably come to mind first, but it’s equally true that politicians compete with each other for elected offices and businesses compete for customers.

In its larger context, is failure always bad or does it sometimes drive innovation? Does the need to compete help us discover hidden passion?

The Spirit of Competition exhibit, coming to the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library’s main branch beginning Monday, will invite you to think about and interact with these concepts.

Created by Indiana Humanities, the exhibit features thought-provoking glimpses into the lives of Hoosiers who competed in various settings and range from famous to obscure. Visitors will have the chance to view short films or even climb on a bike or stage a debate. Competition is all around us, and we experience it in a variety of venues throughout our lives, yet I expect that most of us have given it very little thought. This exhibit will help us to examine one of those “invisible” concepts that we take for granted.

That chance to think more deeply, to interact over ideas, to have one’s interest piqued, is precisely where this exhibit intersects with what the public library is all about. If you ever took a course in psychology, there’s a good chance you ran into Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. The basic concept is that for people to reach their full potential, there is a pyramid-shaped set of needs through which they progress as needs are met.

First we need food, clothing and shelter, but to become truly fulfilled we need opportunities for higher-level activities, including problem-solving and creativity.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll