Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 27, 2013

June 27, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

• Claims that infrasound from wind turbines directly impacts the vestibular system have not been demonstrated scientifically.

• The weight of the evidence suggests no association between sound from wind turbines and measures of psychological distress or mental health problems.

• Typically, at distances larger than 400 meters (about four football fields in length) sound pressure levels for modern wind turbines are less than 40 decibels, which is below the level associated with annoyance in the epidemiological studies reviewed. (See Acoustic Assessment Report for specific sound levels for the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm Project.)

• The measured levels of infrasound produced by modern upwind turbines at distances as close as 68 meters are well below that required for non-auditory perception (feeling of vibration in parts of the body, pressure in the chest, etc.)

• A sound level of 40 decibels is comparable to indoor background sound.

• Studies conducted to assess wind turbine noise indicate that infrasound and low frequency sounds (which are present everywhere in the environment) from modern wind turbines are well below the level where known health effects occur.

• Normal background noise in a rural area at night ranges from 20 to 40 decibels.

• The sound level in a quiet bedroom is approximately 35 decibels.

In conclusion: Nine reports were cited in this article. The peer-reviewed data from them overwhelmingly supports that wind turbines do not pose a threat to human health.

Mike Orr

Tipton CountyWind FarmCommunicationsCommittee

When will we wake and ‘smell the yuck’?

There was a time when the president of this great nation had the morals to be honest with the American public and tell the truth about what’s going on.

President Obama has not. It is such a shame how he has run a scam of what he calls a “transparent” administration. Whether it be Benghazi — where four Americans died and absolutely nothing has been done about it, except more fibs — or campaigning or playing golf, we still have a stagnant economy and nothing is being done except giving huge amounts of money to companies, which in many cases have filed bankruptcy shortly after receiving big bucks from Uncle Sam.

We have runaway gas prices that will probably top $5 a gallon this summer, and he is doing nothing about it. He could care less, now that he has been re-elected. What a shame that is.

There are so many scandals going on, too many to list. When will we Americans wake up and smell the “yuck” that is in the air? God, help us!

Tom La Follette

Kewanna

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll