Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 21, 2014

Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit

(Continued)

When asked if he’s evolved on the bottle-deposit law issue, Wolkins candidly said in a telephone interview Wednesday, “Yeah, I have. I’ve been adamantly opposed to it in the past.” He’s open to the possibility. “So I’m neutral on that now,” he added.

Results in other states have nudged Wolkins to that viewpoint. “It’s no question that [bottle-deposit laws] work,” he said. “If you have a bottle-deposit law in effect, it pretty much takes care of the roadside bottles.”

Under a typical bottle law, a retailer pays a distributor a deposit for each bottle or can purchased. Consumers pay the retailer for the deposit upon purchase. The consumer returns the empties to a retailer or redemption center and receives a refunded deposit. Retailers recover the deposit from the distributor, and often a handling fee (of 1 to 3 cents) to help cover the costs of dealing with the returned containers, according to BottleBill.org.

Retailers and bottling firms have lobbied against bottle bills in Indiana over the years. Memories of the pre-No Deposit, No Return era in the 1960s fuel some opposition. “Grocers had a bad experience with it back in the ‘60s,” Wolkins said. Consumers could return glass bottles and receive a refund of a few cents per bottle. But other trash often wound up inside the glass pop bottles. They were messy, too. Eventually, people bought fewer refillable glass bottles, when cheaper, disposable aluminum cans emerged. As litter grew, bottle bills came into existence in the 1970s and ‘80s. Michigan adopted its law in 1976, and its roadside trash dwindled significantly.

Such laws still face opposition. Wolkins sees an option that could lessen the backlash. Solid-waste districts around the state have expressed an interest in handling the returned bottles, he said. Also, glass companies that once fought a bottle-deposit law now support it, needing the materials to recycle and reuse. Plus, public support is high. A survey last year by the Bowen Center for Public Affairs at Ball State University found that 73 percent of Hoosiers backed a refundable container deposit program.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll