Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 25, 2014

LETTERS: Wallace for Center Twp board; honest gov't in Tipton Co.?

(Continued)

During the 2012 budget hearings, Commissioner Harper brought evidence to the County Council showing that compensation for services on the Drainage Board was not being paid fairly. The County Council immediately rectified the situation by separating the Drainage Board pay from the commissioner’s salary and establishing another fund to pay the Drainage Board members. Mr. Heron was told that per the county resolution, he was designated as a member of the Drainage Board, but if he was not going to attend the meetings then he would not get paid. Commissioner Harper suggested the Drainage Board pay received by Commissioner Heron in 2012 be returned to the county and distributed amongst the citizen members who never got any pay. This did not happen.

Even though this issue was brought out during the public budget hearings in October 2012, Mr. Heron continued to allow someone else to serve in his spot and continued to accept the pay for the remainder of that year.

Every time I read that Phil Heron is committed to open and honest government, I wonder what that means.

Nancy Carney

Sharpsville

Wallace has skill set to better Center Twp

I proudly go on record as endorsing David Wallace as the Democratic candidate for the Center Township Advisory Board. David has a broad background in national and community service, having served more than 29 years in the U.S. military, serving on the City of Kokomo’s Board of Works, Kokomo’s Plan Commission, and working for the Howard County Health Department as the emergency preparedness coordinator.

David is a man of integrity who loves the Lord, his family and his community. Married more than 40 years (to Dr. Linda Wallace), with two adult children, David is an active member of Bible Baptist Church, teaching Bible and involved in the music ministry. David also volunteers at the Primrose Retirement Community of Kokomo.

David is honest, reliable and will work hard for the people of Kokomo and provide quality service and leadership needed to improve Center Township. I believe he is highly qualified to serve on the Center Township Advisory Board and is the right man for the job.

Keith J. Treadway

Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll