Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 30, 2014

House of Burgess: Day at the Ebert film festival

Question for Oswalt; chat with Roger's widow

Until Thursday, I had never before crossed state lines to watch movies. But the chance to attend even one of the five days of the 16th annual Ebertfest: Roger Ebert’s Film Festival was enough to propel my wife, Ash, and me two hours west to Champaign, Ill.

We arrived in town just after the bronze, $112,500 Ebert statue was unveiled. While the first film of the day, “Museum Hours,” played inside, we had plenty of time to pose for pictures with the Rick Harney-designed sculpture, entitled “C-U at the Movies.”

The beauty of the Virginia Theatre itself was almost enough by itself to justify the trip. At 93 years old, it is an absolutely gorgeous building — with an old-fashioned marquee outside, and an elegant, 24-karat-gold-leafed proscenium inside.

We made it to our seats just in time for the start of “Short Term 12,” presented by the film’s co-stars, Brie Larsen and Keith Stanfield. The 2013 film is set in “a foster-care center for at-risk teens whose troubles run the gamut from depression to substance abuse to self-mutilation,” as Christy Lemire, film critic, wrote in her Aug. 23, 2013 RogerEbert.com review. Ebert himself never had a chance to review “Short Term 12,” but I’m sure he would have approved.

As with each film, after the credits rolled, an exact replica of Roger’s famous hand signal — produced by the same company that manufactures the Academy Awards statuettes — was given to the guests by Roger’s widow, Chaz Ebert.

“Who cares about an Oscar?” said Stanfield, proudly holding his Golden Thumb Award, as he and Larson took the stage for a Q&A.

“Young Adult” was next up. Before introducing Patton Oswalt, Chaz read part of Roger’s Dec. 7, 2011 review. “Oswalt is, in a way, the key to the film’s success,” wrote Roger. “Oswalt’s Matt [Freehauf] is human, realistic, sardonic and self-deprecating. He speaks truth to Mavis [played by Charlize Theron.]” I totally agree with Roger’s Jan. 26, 2012 blog, in which he declared: “Oswalt’s performance … deserved [an Oscar] nomination.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll