Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 30, 2014

House of Burgess: Day at the Ebert film festival

Question for Oswalt; chat with Roger's widow

Until Thursday, I had never before crossed state lines to watch movies. But the chance to attend even one of the five days of the 16th annual Ebertfest: Roger Ebert’s Film Festival was enough to propel my wife, Ash, and me two hours west to Champaign, Ill.

We arrived in town just after the bronze, $112,500 Ebert statue was unveiled. While the first film of the day, “Museum Hours,” played inside, we had plenty of time to pose for pictures with the Rick Harney-designed sculpture, entitled “C-U at the Movies.”

The beauty of the Virginia Theatre itself was almost enough by itself to justify the trip. At 93 years old, it is an absolutely gorgeous building — with an old-fashioned marquee outside, and an elegant, 24-karat-gold-leafed proscenium inside.

We made it to our seats just in time for the start of “Short Term 12,” presented by the film’s co-stars, Brie Larsen and Keith Stanfield. The 2013 film is set in “a foster-care center for at-risk teens whose troubles run the gamut from depression to substance abuse to self-mutilation,” as Christy Lemire, film critic, wrote in her Aug. 23, 2013 RogerEbert.com review. Ebert himself never had a chance to review “Short Term 12,” but I’m sure he would have approved.

As with each film, after the credits rolled, an exact replica of Roger’s famous hand signal — produced by the same company that manufactures the Academy Awards statuettes — was given to the guests by Roger’s widow, Chaz Ebert.

“Who cares about an Oscar?” said Stanfield, proudly holding his Golden Thumb Award, as he and Larson took the stage for a Q&A.

“Young Adult” was next up. Before introducing Patton Oswalt, Chaz read part of Roger’s Dec. 7, 2011 review. “Oswalt is, in a way, the key to the film’s success,” wrote Roger. “Oswalt’s Matt [Freehauf] is human, realistic, sardonic and self-deprecating. He speaks truth to Mavis [played by Charlize Theron.]” I totally agree with Roger’s Jan. 26, 2012 blog, in which he declared: “Oswalt’s performance … deserved [an Oscar] nomination.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll