Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 30, 2014

House of Burgess: Day at the Ebert film festival

Question for Oswalt; chat with Roger's widow

Until Thursday, I had never before crossed state lines to watch movies. But the chance to attend even one of the five days of the 16th annual Ebertfest: Roger Ebert’s Film Festival was enough to propel my wife, Ash, and me two hours west to Champaign, Ill.

We arrived in town just after the bronze, $112,500 Ebert statue was unveiled. While the first film of the day, “Museum Hours,” played inside, we had plenty of time to pose for pictures with the Rick Harney-designed sculpture, entitled “C-U at the Movies.”

The beauty of the Virginia Theatre itself was almost enough by itself to justify the trip. At 93 years old, it is an absolutely gorgeous building — with an old-fashioned marquee outside, and an elegant, 24-karat-gold-leafed proscenium inside.

We made it to our seats just in time for the start of “Short Term 12,” presented by the film’s co-stars, Brie Larsen and Keith Stanfield. The 2013 film is set in “a foster-care center for at-risk teens whose troubles run the gamut from depression to substance abuse to self-mutilation,” as Christy Lemire, film critic, wrote in her Aug. 23, 2013 RogerEbert.com review. Ebert himself never had a chance to review “Short Term 12,” but I’m sure he would have approved.

As with each film, after the credits rolled, an exact replica of Roger’s famous hand signal — produced by the same company that manufactures the Academy Awards statuettes — was given to the guests by Roger’s widow, Chaz Ebert.

“Who cares about an Oscar?” said Stanfield, proudly holding his Golden Thumb Award, as he and Larson took the stage for a Q&A.

“Young Adult” was next up. Before introducing Patton Oswalt, Chaz read part of Roger’s Dec. 7, 2011 review. “Oswalt is, in a way, the key to the film’s success,” wrote Roger. “Oswalt’s Matt [Freehauf] is human, realistic, sardonic and self-deprecating. He speaks truth to Mavis [played by Charlize Theron.]” I totally agree with Roger’s Jan. 26, 2012 blog, in which he declared: “Oswalt’s performance … deserved [an Oscar] nomination.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Moped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mopeds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana. A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners returned sprits to Indiana State Fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week.When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putti

    August 19, 2014

  • LETTERS: Support Connie Brown; wind agreement termination Connie Brown for county clerkConnie Brown is an excellent person to serve as county clerk. She is kind, generous, and dedicated to what she does. Having served with her on the Stonybrook Board for six years, I have come to know her and respect her ta

    August 19, 2014

  • Indiana budget woes put new focus on 'reversions' When is a budget cut not a cut? In Indiana, it’s when it’s a reversion.Budget cuts, via reversions, were at the center of a pair of big decisions last week, putting the tactic used by both Democratic and Republican governors in the spotlight.State Bu

    August 19, 2014

  • How to care for our children and their children INDIANAPOLIS – Let’s ponder “our children” and “their children.”First, Gov. Mike Pence made a wise call this past week when he ordered the Department of Child Services to begin reimbursing families who had adopted special needs children.A class actio

    August 18, 2014

  • Aug. 18: Letters to the Editor Sick of allthe wind talkI am going to rant a bit. I am sick and tired of opening up the paper and there is another letter about windmills. We have so much going on in the world. We have children getting beheaded, presidents always on vacation, an eco

    August 18, 2014

  • Havinga civil reunion My wife and I enjoy doing many things together. But when our entertainment preferences are not in sync, we can communicate openly with each other. That makes for a perfect union. But it may make for a lousy reunion. Let me explain.The Wolfsie family

    August 18, 2014

  • Police turning to military? The images this week of Ferguson, Missouri in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagi

    August 17, 2014

  • Aug. 17: Letters to the Editor Money for all,but fire departmentIn the past couple of weeks a decision was implemented to discontinue Rescue Unit # 2 service from the Kokomo Fire Department. I have talked to the Kokomo Fire Chief, Nick Glover, and to the Kokomo Board of Works Pres

    August 17, 2014

  • Some lighter newsto brighten your day Do you get depressed or emotionally depleted from all the bad news around us? Terrorists taking over Iraq and slaughtering innocent people, toxic drinking water in Ohio, and a host of domestic problems that polarize our nation and makes us wonder if

    August 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes Lunch Bus Delivers Meals to Kids Out of School Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners Rockets Fired From Gaza, in Breach of Ceasefire Raw: Japanese Military Live Fire Exercise Police, Protesters Clash in Ferguson Independent Autopsy Reveals Michael Brown Wounds Nashville Embraces Motley Crue Obama: 'Time to Listen, Not Just Shout' Lawyer: Gov. Perry Indictment a 'Nasty Attack' Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Crosses Into Ukraine Iowa Man Builds Statue of a Golfer Out of Balls Assange Gets Cryptic About Leaving Embassy in UK Raw: Building Collapse in South Africa, 9 Dead Raw: Pope Francis Meets 'Comfort Women'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll