Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 4, 2014

LETTERS: Aid recipients should work if able; Wallace wants to serve people

Aid recipients should work when possible

As a candidate for Center Township Advisory Board, I feel I should explain my interest in the position and my reason for running.

I taught at Taylor for more than 40 years, retiring last summer. I still continue to work there as scholarship coordinator. Like most new retirees, I have been looking for something constructive to do. The scholarship job is neat but only takes one day per week.

Over the years, I have been lucky to find satisfying summer jobs. I worked at the Employment Office, helping teenagers find summer jobs and laid-off adults collect unemployment. I also worked for the JTPA federal program, which provided job and training experience, not welfare, for low-income teens. In these positions, I became aware of the many services Kokomo offers people needing help. I referred them to the Career Center, Food Stamp Office, Welfare and, of course, the Trustee’s Office.

I realize the Trustee’s Office has a responsibility to operate efficiently to protect the taxpayers who pay the bills. I agree wholeheartedly with the concept of recipients working, whenever possible, to repay through work what they have received. They can take care of the township cemetery and help at the many community not-for-profits in Kokomo.

I have lived in Center Township since 1978 and have served as precinct committeeman. I think I have the time and interest to do a good job on the Center Township Advisory Board. Anyone with questions or comments is welcome to call me at 765-453-1340.

Charles Short

Kokomo

Wallace just wants to serve the people

I would like to encourage you to vote for David Wallace for the Center Township Advisory Board.

Dave is a friend with integrity, who has served his country for 29-plus years in the U.S. military as commander of three Air Force squadrons and on the Combined Special Operations Task Force during Operation Desert Thunder. Dave has a Master of Public Administration degree in urban, state and federal government. He has served the city of Kokomo on the Board of Works, Planning Commission and managed facilities for City Hall and the fire stations. He has worked for the Howard County Health Department as an emergency preparedness coordinator and the Family Service Association to help meet the transportation needs of families by recycling donated vehicles.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll