Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 4, 2014

LETTERS: Aid recipients should work if able; Wallace wants to serve people

Aid recipients should work when possible

As a candidate for Center Township Advisory Board, I feel I should explain my interest in the position and my reason for running.

I taught at Taylor for more than 40 years, retiring last summer. I still continue to work there as scholarship coordinator. Like most new retirees, I have been looking for something constructive to do. The scholarship job is neat but only takes one day per week.

Over the years, I have been lucky to find satisfying summer jobs. I worked at the Employment Office, helping teenagers find summer jobs and laid-off adults collect unemployment. I also worked for the JTPA federal program, which provided job and training experience, not welfare, for low-income teens. In these positions, I became aware of the many services Kokomo offers people needing help. I referred them to the Career Center, Food Stamp Office, Welfare and, of course, the Trustee’s Office.

I realize the Trustee’s Office has a responsibility to operate efficiently to protect the taxpayers who pay the bills. I agree wholeheartedly with the concept of recipients working, whenever possible, to repay through work what they have received. They can take care of the township cemetery and help at the many community not-for-profits in Kokomo.

I have lived in Center Township since 1978 and have served as precinct committeeman. I think I have the time and interest to do a good job on the Center Township Advisory Board. Anyone with questions or comments is welcome to call me at 765-453-1340.

Charles Short

Kokomo

Wallace just wants to serve the people

I would like to encourage you to vote for David Wallace for the Center Township Advisory Board.

Dave is a friend with integrity, who has served his country for 29-plus years in the U.S. military as commander of three Air Force squadrons and on the Combined Special Operations Task Force during Operation Desert Thunder. Dave has a Master of Public Administration degree in urban, state and federal government. He has served the city of Kokomo on the Board of Works, Planning Commission and managed facilities for City Hall and the fire stations. He has worked for the Howard County Health Department as an emergency preparedness coordinator and the Family Service Association to help meet the transportation needs of families by recycling donated vehicles.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll