Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 9, 2014

Sowing a bit of civic pride

Show your community spirit and help Kokomo bloom this spring.

For most homeowners, Saturday is a day for working in the yard or garden. But next weekend, several dozen community volunteers will roll up their sleeves and spend a little time bringing a bit of beauty to the heart of Howard County.

“I just love flowers,” Suzanne Peters told us as she swept the Alleyscape — the walkway east of the courthouse — on flower-planting day in 2012. “This makes for a beautiful walkway to the courthouse ... or just a place to sit down and relax and collect your thoughts.”

Planting flowers in Kokomo’s downtown is today an annual rite for friends of the Greater Kokomo Downtown Council. Spring is here, so it’s time to get busy.

Volunteers will join city crews from 8 a.m. to noon May 17 to plant flowers downtown. Helpers on planting day should bring gloves, garden trowels and shovels.

Everyone will meet at 8 a.m. at the gazebo across from City Hall on Union Street for coffee, juice and doughnuts.

The planting initiative of the downtown council, a division of the Greater Kokomo Economic Development Alliance, has been financially supported by the city since former Mayor Matt McKillip’s administration. It shouts civic pride to residents and visitors alike.

“We had some ladies walk through here from Tipton and Cass counties and they said, ‘Wow, this is gorgeous. I wish we had something like this where we’re from,’” volunteer Diana Lambuth told us on planting day two years ago.

In March, volunteers at Mark and Julie Hilligoss’ greenhouse at 3556 W. 500 South to plant flower cuttings in hundreds of baskets that will hang from light posts on streets in the center of the city and around the Indiana University Kokomo campus. City crews soon will be busy hanging the baskets throughout the downtown area and along many city thoroughfares.

If you have a green thumb and some free time May 17, we encourage you to show your community spirit and help Kokomo bloom this spring.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll