Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 14, 2014

Rich's death hard to bear

Many Christians believe St. Michael to be the patron saint of policemen.

And quite a few of them from across the national likely will call on St. Michael on behalf of the nation’s fallen law enforcement officers Thursday on Peace Officers Memorial Day, just as many from the area did after the death of State Police Master Trooper David Rich seven years ago.

The 18-year veteran of the state police, and detective based out of the Peru Post, stopped July 5, 2007, on U.S. 24 to help a man whom he believed to be just a stranded motorist. That motorist, a 21-year-old Michigan man, shot Rich in the chest with a shotgun, killing him, state police said.

The man then reloaded the shotgun and took his own life, state police said.

Rich left behind a wife, a daughter and twin sons. All three of his children were under the age of 8 the day of his death.

State Police Sgt. Tony Slocum told us Rich was the nicest man he’d ever met.

“If that guy needed help, [Rich] would have gave him his shoes, his pants,” Slocum said after the shooting. “He would have done anything to help him, just as he’s done here on many occasions at the post.”

It’s difficult to deal with death. But a senseless death, a violent death without provocation and involving a police officer, is particularly hard for families, friends, fellow officers and communities to bear. More often than not, policemen are active in the communities they protect.

Tipton County still mourns the loss of Sheriff’s Capt. Matt Thompson, killed in a motorcycle accident eight years ago this coming July. He was a fixture at Tri-Central High School football and basketball games. He helped coach Trojan softball teams for 10 years. He was loved and respected and is missed.

So, once again, we extend our sincerest condolences to the families and friends of David Rich and Matt Thompson. We thank them for sharing their loved ones with the north central Indiana community and wish them peace. And we remind readers to fly flags at half-staff Thursday.

And if St. Michael truly is the patron saint of police officers, we hope he continues to intercede with God on their behalf.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll