Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 18, 2014

FAITH BRAUTIGAM: Investments of time pay dividends in lives of others

Thanks those who help our community an hour at a time

In May, it’s hard not to run across stories of people who have made a difference in the lives of others. Newspaper columns, TV ads and Facebook posts laud mothers who made sacrifices, great and small. Graduates tell about the incremental steps along the way that brought them to the figurative finish line and the people who were there at those critical junctures. Parents of graduates have their own list of those to thank. While November may be the No. 1 month for sheer gratefulness, May’s tales tend to focus on the dividends of people investing in other people.

Organizationally, the library is in that very same mode. May is the time when we recognize the volunteers who share the very best gift of all — themselves — with the library throughout the year. As we took time to thank our volunteers this year, I realized anew the enormous value they provide for the community through the library.

There are whole library services that, without volunteers, would literally cease to exist. Others would become only a shadow of their current selves. Our Homebound program comes to mind first. Those who, either temporarily or permanently, find it challenging to get to the library to use our materials can sign up to have items delivered to their residences. The delivery isn’t just one-size-fits-all, either. Each person’s “order” is tailor-made, based on preferences of all shapes and sizes for both content and format. In some cases, we even take care not to bring items that an avid reader has already read. In a scenario without volunteers, our staffing simply would not stretch to cover the 50-plus personalized stops per month that we now make.

In other cases, volunteers bring skills, materials and interests that our own staff simply do not have. It might come as a complete surprise to you, but the 501st Legion volunteers who were a fabulous part of our “Stars Wars” Day own costumes and gear that just isn’t in my closet. Our Paws to Read program relies on people who have certified therapy animals and the time to share them with emerging readers. Anyone who delivers books to the Howard County jail must be male, which eliminates most of our staff and makes our jail volunteers worth their weight in gold. Our Community Advisory Council has the ability to look at library questions, plans or most recently our signage with fresh eyes. They don’t know library jargon, the history of why a decision was made, or any of the other reasons why things can’t be different; the comments they give us are gifts.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Moped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mopeds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana. A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners returned sprits to Indiana State Fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week.When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putti

    August 19, 2014

  • LETTERS: Support Connie Brown; wind agreement termination Connie Brown for county clerkConnie Brown is an excellent person to serve as county clerk. She is kind, generous, and dedicated to what she does. Having served with her on the Stonybrook Board for six years, I have come to know her and respect her ta

    August 19, 2014

  • Indiana budget woes put new focus on 'reversions' When is a budget cut not a cut? In Indiana, it’s when it’s a reversion.Budget cuts, via reversions, were at the center of a pair of big decisions last week, putting the tactic used by both Democratic and Republican governors in the spotlight.State Bu

    August 19, 2014

  • How to care for our children and their children INDIANAPOLIS – Let’s ponder “our children” and “their children.”First, Gov. Mike Pence made a wise call this past week when he ordered the Department of Child Services to begin reimbursing families who had adopted special needs children.A class actio

    August 18, 2014

  • Aug. 18: Letters to the Editor Sick of allthe wind talkI am going to rant a bit. I am sick and tired of opening up the paper and there is another letter about windmills. We have so much going on in the world. We have children getting beheaded, presidents always on vacation, an eco

    August 18, 2014

  • Havinga civil reunion My wife and I enjoy doing many things together. But when our entertainment preferences are not in sync, we can communicate openly with each other. That makes for a perfect union. But it may make for a lousy reunion. Let me explain.The Wolfsie family

    August 18, 2014

  • Police turning to military? The images this week of Ferguson, Missouri in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagi

    August 17, 2014

  • Aug. 17: Letters to the Editor Money for all,but fire departmentIn the past couple of weeks a decision was implemented to discontinue Rescue Unit # 2 service from the Kokomo Fire Department. I have talked to the Kokomo Fire Chief, Nick Glover, and to the Kokomo Board of Works Pres

    August 17, 2014

  • Some lighter newsto brighten your day Do you get depressed or emotionally depleted from all the bad news around us? Terrorists taking over Iraq and slaughtering innocent people, toxic drinking water in Ohio, and a host of domestic problems that polarize our nation and makes us wonder if

    August 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes Lunch Bus Delivers Meals to Kids Out of School Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners Rockets Fired From Gaza, in Breach of Ceasefire Raw: Japanese Military Live Fire Exercise Police, Protesters Clash in Ferguson Independent Autopsy Reveals Michael Brown Wounds Nashville Embraces Motley Crue Obama: 'Time to Listen, Not Just Shout' Lawyer: Gov. Perry Indictment a 'Nasty Attack' Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Crosses Into Ukraine Iowa Man Builds Statue of a Golfer Out of Balls Assange Gets Cryptic About Leaving Embassy in UK Raw: Building Collapse in South Africa, 9 Dead Raw: Pope Francis Meets 'Comfort Women'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll