Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 18, 2014

FAITH BRAUTIGAM: Investments of time pay dividends in lives of others

Thanks those who help our community an hour at a time

In May, it’s hard not to run across stories of people who have made a difference in the lives of others. Newspaper columns, TV ads and Facebook posts laud mothers who made sacrifices, great and small. Graduates tell about the incremental steps along the way that brought them to the figurative finish line and the people who were there at those critical junctures. Parents of graduates have their own list of those to thank. While November may be the No. 1 month for sheer gratefulness, May’s tales tend to focus on the dividends of people investing in other people.

Organizationally, the library is in that very same mode. May is the time when we recognize the volunteers who share the very best gift of all — themselves — with the library throughout the year. As we took time to thank our volunteers this year, I realized anew the enormous value they provide for the community through the library.

There are whole library services that, without volunteers, would literally cease to exist. Others would become only a shadow of their current selves. Our Homebound program comes to mind first. Those who, either temporarily or permanently, find it challenging to get to the library to use our materials can sign up to have items delivered to their residences. The delivery isn’t just one-size-fits-all, either. Each person’s “order” is tailor-made, based on preferences of all shapes and sizes for both content and format. In some cases, we even take care not to bring items that an avid reader has already read. In a scenario without volunteers, our staffing simply would not stretch to cover the 50-plus personalized stops per month that we now make.

In other cases, volunteers bring skills, materials and interests that our own staff simply do not have. It might come as a complete surprise to you, but the 501st Legion volunteers who were a fabulous part of our “Stars Wars” Day own costumes and gear that just isn’t in my closet. Our Paws to Read program relies on people who have certified therapy animals and the time to share them with emerging readers. Anyone who delivers books to the Howard County jail must be male, which eliminates most of our staff and makes our jail volunteers worth their weight in gold. Our Community Advisory Council has the ability to look at library questions, plans or most recently our signage with fresh eyes. They don’t know library jargon, the history of why a decision was made, or any of the other reasons why things can’t be different; the comments they give us are gifts.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll