Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 8, 2014

ED VASICEK: All-time favorite television shows

Tastes no longer tied to the times

One of my favorite jokes is particularly funny because many of us find it true. The joke goes like this: Have you heard of Cable TV dinners? Two hundred choices, but none of them are any good!

Between vintage TV channels (like ME TV or Antenna TV), the Internet (with Hulu, Netflix and YouTube) and the availability of DVD sets, we are no longer limited by “what’s happening now.” We can choose our favorite shows from the last 60 years — and probably find them!

The British say it well, “There is no accounting for taste.” Today, I am going to share my taste in television shows. You, my readers, are welcome to email me a list of yours, if you like.

No. 12, “Murder She Wrote.” True, it is hard to believe that a mystery writer with no connection to the police force or detective agency could stumble across a new body every week. But the program ran for 12 years with 264 episodes. That says something.

No. 11, “Jeeves and Wooster.” Fry and Laurie have the chemistry to highlight the light plots of this British comedy. The 23 episodes were produced during the 1990s.

No. 10, “The Munsters.” The show ran for two years with 70 episodes. A similar show, “The Adams Family,” is also funny, but not as funny as “The Munsters,” in my opinion.

No. 9, “The Honeymooners.” It is the gold standard for situation comedies. The show continued off and on over two decades; the mid-’50s version (with Audrey Meadows) is the most popular, but the hour-long, color version (with Sheila MacRae) features the June Taylor Dancers and songs by the cast. “The Flintstones” are pretty much a cartoon version of “The Honeymooners.”

No. 8, “Perry Mason.” It has to be one of the best mystery shows ever produced. With an amazing cast and plots that kept you glued to your seat, they have been in perpetual syndication.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll