Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 8, 2014

ED VASICEK: All-time favorite television shows

Tastes no longer tied to the times

One of my favorite jokes is particularly funny because many of us find it true. The joke goes like this: Have you heard of Cable TV dinners? Two hundred choices, but none of them are any good!

Between vintage TV channels (like ME TV or Antenna TV), the Internet (with Hulu, Netflix and YouTube) and the availability of DVD sets, we are no longer limited by “what’s happening now.” We can choose our favorite shows from the last 60 years — and probably find them!

The British say it well, “There is no accounting for taste.” Today, I am going to share my taste in television shows. You, my readers, are welcome to email me a list of yours, if you like.

No. 12, “Murder She Wrote.” True, it is hard to believe that a mystery writer with no connection to the police force or detective agency could stumble across a new body every week. But the program ran for 12 years with 264 episodes. That says something.

No. 11, “Jeeves and Wooster.” Fry and Laurie have the chemistry to highlight the light plots of this British comedy. The 23 episodes were produced during the 1990s.

No. 10, “The Munsters.” The show ran for two years with 70 episodes. A similar show, “The Adams Family,” is also funny, but not as funny as “The Munsters,” in my opinion.

No. 9, “The Honeymooners.” It is the gold standard for situation comedies. The show continued off and on over two decades; the mid-’50s version (with Audrey Meadows) is the most popular, but the hour-long, color version (with Sheila MacRae) features the June Taylor Dancers and songs by the cast. “The Flintstones” are pretty much a cartoon version of “The Honeymooners.”

No. 8, “Perry Mason.” It has to be one of the best mystery shows ever produced. With an amazing cast and plots that kept you glued to your seat, they have been in perpetual syndication.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll