Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 5, 2013

MARK HEINIG: Clearing up marijuana misconceptions

What effects would legalization have on teenagers?

Early in June, the American Civil Liberties Union published a study on the illegal use of marijuana in the United States. The media in Indiana reported the findings of the study for both the nation and the Hoosier State. That doesn’t surprise me at all. I would be surprised to learn the media in any state omitted the local findings. Both nationally and locally, two of the ACLU’s conclusions confirm our expectations. They tell us what we thought was true really is true.

First, race is a key factor in determining who is prosecuted for allegedly violating marijuana laws. At the risk of oversimplifying the study’s findings, you can get in more trouble for smoking pot if you’re black than if you’re white. Make that a lot more trouble! Second, the costs of prosecution are skyrocketing. That presents us with the problem of reducing those costs without diminishing the effectiveness of our marijuana legislation. Wait a minute! Who thinks our marijuana laws are effective now?

The ACLU examined a mountain of statistical data in reaching those conclusions. I can’t challenge the organization’s contention that blacks are scrutinized much more intensely than whites when it comes to possible violations of marijuana laws. The evidence seems incontrovertible. Is that unfair to African-Americans? Absolutely!

I am apprehensive about the ACLU’s other conclusion. I must wonder how more lenient marijuana laws and less severe penalties would reduce the unfairness. Subjecting black people to closer scrutiny than white people remains an injustice no matter how much we relax the marijuana laws and reduce the penalties. What’s right is still right, and what’s wrong is still wrong!

Despite the organization’s opposition to unfair treatment of blacks, urging a state like Indiana to soften its stance on marijuana may not be the best solution. The arguments for moderating or abolishing marijuana legislation seem to revolve around money. Providing due process for marijuana offenders is undeniably expensive.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll