Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 5, 2013

MARK HEINIG: Clearing up marijuana misconceptions

What effects would legalization have on teenagers?

Early in June, the American Civil Liberties Union published a study on the illegal use of marijuana in the United States. The media in Indiana reported the findings of the study for both the nation and the Hoosier State. That doesn’t surprise me at all. I would be surprised to learn the media in any state omitted the local findings. Both nationally and locally, two of the ACLU’s conclusions confirm our expectations. They tell us what we thought was true really is true.

First, race is a key factor in determining who is prosecuted for allegedly violating marijuana laws. At the risk of oversimplifying the study’s findings, you can get in more trouble for smoking pot if you’re black than if you’re white. Make that a lot more trouble! Second, the costs of prosecution are skyrocketing. That presents us with the problem of reducing those costs without diminishing the effectiveness of our marijuana legislation. Wait a minute! Who thinks our marijuana laws are effective now?

The ACLU examined a mountain of statistical data in reaching those conclusions. I can’t challenge the organization’s contention that blacks are scrutinized much more intensely than whites when it comes to possible violations of marijuana laws. The evidence seems incontrovertible. Is that unfair to African-Americans? Absolutely!

I am apprehensive about the ACLU’s other conclusion. I must wonder how more lenient marijuana laws and less severe penalties would reduce the unfairness. Subjecting black people to closer scrutiny than white people remains an injustice no matter how much we relax the marijuana laws and reduce the penalties. What’s right is still right, and what’s wrong is still wrong!

Despite the organization’s opposition to unfair treatment of blacks, urging a state like Indiana to soften its stance on marijuana may not be the best solution. The arguments for moderating or abolishing marijuana legislation seem to revolve around money. Providing due process for marijuana offenders is undeniably expensive.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll