Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 5, 2013

'More Than a Feeling'

North central Indiana, particularly Howard, Miami and Tipton counties, had a pretty tough year in 2009.

Chrysler’s factory shutdowns, brought on by the automaker’s brief bankruptcy, pushed Howard County unemployment to 19.3 percent that May. Delphi cut salaried retirees’ health and life insurance benefits and later defaulted retiree pensions to the federal government. Many, if not most, area residents were working longer hours for less than what they made a year or two earlier.

Kokomo needed a party at the beginning of the Great Recession, and the Haynes Apperson Festival provided one.

And when members of the ’70s supergroup Boston played the band’s most popular songs here during the annual summer celebration four years ago, we were reminded that civic pride is “More Than a Feeling.”

Haynes Apperson has returned, and this community has much for which to be thankful.

Since last year’s festival, Chrysler Group announced plans for a $374 million expansion that will create more than 1,200 jobs in Kokomo and Tipton. More than $200 million in equipment will be invested in the Kokomo Transmission Plant and two other facilities for production of eight- and nine-speed automatic transmissions. That part of the expansion will create up to 400 jobs.

More than $100 million will be spent on a nine-speed transmission production line in Tipton that will create 850 jobs.

Once all of those jobs are filled, Chrysler will have added 2,200 jobs in the Kokomo Metropolitan Area since 2009.

Stabilization of the area’s other largest employers – Delphi Electronics and Safety, General Motors Components Holdings and Haynes International – gradually has put more people to work. Unemployment now stands at 9.2 percent in Howard County.

Kokomo has quite a lot for which to be proud. The first American auto was made here. An early Indianapolis 500 race car was made here. The first carburetor was made here. The first pneumatic tire was made here.

Other than our automotive heritage, let’s remember to celebrate our people today. The economy has knocked many down, but they get back up. Families, friends and churches lift up those experiencing worry and heartache.

It’s what we do. It’s what we’re supposed to do.

It’s why we’re proud to call Howard County home.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll