Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 5, 2013

'More Than a Feeling'

North central Indiana, particularly Howard, Miami and Tipton counties, had a pretty tough year in 2009.

Chrysler’s factory shutdowns, brought on by the automaker’s brief bankruptcy, pushed Howard County unemployment to 19.3 percent that May. Delphi cut salaried retirees’ health and life insurance benefits and later defaulted retiree pensions to the federal government. Many, if not most, area residents were working longer hours for less than what they made a year or two earlier.

Kokomo needed a party at the beginning of the Great Recession, and the Haynes Apperson Festival provided one.

And when members of the ’70s supergroup Boston played the band’s most popular songs here during the annual summer celebration four years ago, we were reminded that civic pride is “More Than a Feeling.”

Haynes Apperson has returned, and this community has much for which to be thankful.

Since last year’s festival, Chrysler Group announced plans for a $374 million expansion that will create more than 1,200 jobs in Kokomo and Tipton. More than $200 million in equipment will be invested in the Kokomo Transmission Plant and two other facilities for production of eight- and nine-speed automatic transmissions. That part of the expansion will create up to 400 jobs.

More than $100 million will be spent on a nine-speed transmission production line in Tipton that will create 850 jobs.

Once all of those jobs are filled, Chrysler will have added 2,200 jobs in the Kokomo Metropolitan Area since 2009.

Stabilization of the area’s other largest employers – Delphi Electronics and Safety, General Motors Components Holdings and Haynes International – gradually has put more people to work. Unemployment now stands at 9.2 percent in Howard County.

Kokomo has quite a lot for which to be proud. The first American auto was made here. An early Indianapolis 500 race car was made here. The first carburetor was made here. The first pneumatic tire was made here.

Other than our automotive heritage, let’s remember to celebrate our people today. The economy has knocked many down, but they get back up. Families, friends and churches lift up those experiencing worry and heartache.

It’s what we do. It’s what we’re supposed to do.

It’s why we’re proud to call Howard County home.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll