Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 3, 2013

House of Burgess: SCOTUS giveth, then it taketh

Supreme Court issues several historic decisions.

Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court issued four of the most consequential rulings in years as a final capper to its current term. If nothing else, it was a sound reminder of the power nine human beings have over everyone else who lives here, for good or ill. Here’s a rundown of the decisions:

Fisher v. University of Texas

This case was more about what didn’t happen: Affirmative action is not dead. Good thing, too. Moving on …

United States v. Windsor

The Defense of Marriage Act was an indefensible blunder on the part of President William Jefferson Clinton. Here he is being interviewed by The Advocate in late June 1996, just before he signed the codified discrimination into law. “I remain opposed to same-sex marriage,” he said. “I believe marriage is an institution for the union of a man and a woman. This has been my long-standing position, and it is not being reviewed or reconsidered.” Jerry Falwell couldn’t have said it better himself, I’m sure. Clinton really let everyone down by playing along with this Bob Barr-penned fiasco in the first place. (To be fair, he has since shifted his stance, penning an op-ed for the Washington Post earlier this year entitled, “It’s time to overturn DOMA.”) By a 5-4 decision, that mistake has finally been amended. In the now 13 states where gay marriage is legal, that union now means something in a practical sense when it counts. Which brings us to …

Hollingsworth v. Perry

I was lucky enough to be an eligible voter in the state of California in 2008. This afforded me the distinct pleasure of voting against Proposition 8, which constitutionally banned same-sex marriage in the Golden State. I and my fellow 6,401,481 concurring registered voters finally had our voices heard five years later when the court ruled it unconstitutional. I was pretty sure the court would turn its back on Prop. 8, I just didn’t want to get my hopes up. I was heartened by the fact the state did not even show up in district court to defend the ballot initiative. However, I am saddened the court left the other 37 states in the nation awaiting a future court challenge to finally finish the job of legalizing gay marriage everywhere. It could have gone a lot worse, though. But, then, I reject the entire premise from the start: Two consenting, nonrelated adults shouldn’t have to answer to anyone, including me, about whom they love or why. It’s not something to be voted upon in the first place. (Are you listening, Gov. Mike Pence?) Speaking of voting …

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll