Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 3, 2013

House of Burgess: SCOTUS giveth, then it taketh

Supreme Court issues several historic decisions.

Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court issued four of the most consequential rulings in years as a final capper to its current term. If nothing else, it was a sound reminder of the power nine human beings have over everyone else who lives here, for good or ill. Here’s a rundown of the decisions:

Fisher v. University of Texas

This case was more about what didn’t happen: Affirmative action is not dead. Good thing, too. Moving on …

United States v. Windsor

The Defense of Marriage Act was an indefensible blunder on the part of President William Jefferson Clinton. Here he is being interviewed by The Advocate in late June 1996, just before he signed the codified discrimination into law. “I remain opposed to same-sex marriage,” he said. “I believe marriage is an institution for the union of a man and a woman. This has been my long-standing position, and it is not being reviewed or reconsidered.” Jerry Falwell couldn’t have said it better himself, I’m sure. Clinton really let everyone down by playing along with this Bob Barr-penned fiasco in the first place. (To be fair, he has since shifted his stance, penning an op-ed for the Washington Post earlier this year entitled, “It’s time to overturn DOMA.”) By a 5-4 decision, that mistake has finally been amended. In the now 13 states where gay marriage is legal, that union now means something in a practical sense when it counts. Which brings us to …

Hollingsworth v. Perry

I was lucky enough to be an eligible voter in the state of California in 2008. This afforded me the distinct pleasure of voting against Proposition 8, which constitutionally banned same-sex marriage in the Golden State. I and my fellow 6,401,481 concurring registered voters finally had our voices heard five years later when the court ruled it unconstitutional. I was pretty sure the court would turn its back on Prop. 8, I just didn’t want to get my hopes up. I was heartened by the fact the state did not even show up in district court to defend the ballot initiative. However, I am saddened the court left the other 37 states in the nation awaiting a future court challenge to finally finish the job of legalizing gay marriage everywhere. It could have gone a lot worse, though. But, then, I reject the entire premise from the start: Two consenting, nonrelated adults shouldn’t have to answer to anyone, including me, about whom they love or why. It’s not something to be voted upon in the first place. (Are you listening, Gov. Mike Pence?) Speaking of voting …

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll