Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 3, 2013

House of Burgess: SCOTUS giveth, then it taketh

Supreme Court issues several historic decisions.

Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court issued four of the most consequential rulings in years as a final capper to its current term. If nothing else, it was a sound reminder of the power nine human beings have over everyone else who lives here, for good or ill. Here’s a rundown of the decisions:

Fisher v. University of Texas

This case was more about what didn’t happen: Affirmative action is not dead. Good thing, too. Moving on …

United States v. Windsor

The Defense of Marriage Act was an indefensible blunder on the part of President William Jefferson Clinton. Here he is being interviewed by The Advocate in late June 1996, just before he signed the codified discrimination into law. “I remain opposed to same-sex marriage,” he said. “I believe marriage is an institution for the union of a man and a woman. This has been my long-standing position, and it is not being reviewed or reconsidered.” Jerry Falwell couldn’t have said it better himself, I’m sure. Clinton really let everyone down by playing along with this Bob Barr-penned fiasco in the first place. (To be fair, he has since shifted his stance, penning an op-ed for the Washington Post earlier this year entitled, “It’s time to overturn DOMA.”) By a 5-4 decision, that mistake has finally been amended. In the now 13 states where gay marriage is legal, that union now means something in a practical sense when it counts. Which brings us to …

Hollingsworth v. Perry

I was lucky enough to be an eligible voter in the state of California in 2008. This afforded me the distinct pleasure of voting against Proposition 8, which constitutionally banned same-sex marriage in the Golden State. I and my fellow 6,401,481 concurring registered voters finally had our voices heard five years later when the court ruled it unconstitutional. I was pretty sure the court would turn its back on Prop. 8, I just didn’t want to get my hopes up. I was heartened by the fact the state did not even show up in district court to defend the ballot initiative. However, I am saddened the court left the other 37 states in the nation awaiting a future court challenge to finally finish the job of legalizing gay marriage everywhere. It could have gone a lot worse, though. But, then, I reject the entire premise from the start: Two consenting, nonrelated adults shouldn’t have to answer to anyone, including me, about whom they love or why. It’s not something to be voted upon in the first place. (Are you listening, Gov. Mike Pence?) Speaking of voting …

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Keep eyeout for kids With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Let's hope 7th Circuit sides with couples Let’s hope 7th Circuit sides with couplesIf you blinked over the past month, you probably missed some news about marriage equality in Indiana.First, a federal court ruled that the state’s ban on marriage for same-sex couples was unconstitutional, whi

    July 23, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Spend down surplus? Been there, done that Back in 1998, the state of Indiana had more than $1.3 billion in surplus funds in its general account. This was about 57 days of state spending. The state had total surplus funds of more than $2 billion that was over 24 percent of its annual operatin

    July 23, 2014

  • House of Burgess: Bush? Clinton? Next, please Here comes a sentence I don’t usually find myself typing: I agree with Barbara Bush on something.Jan. 20, C-SPAN aired her installment in the series “First Ladies: Influence and Image,” which was filmed at Bush’s Houston home.“Do you think there is r

    July 23, 2014

  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll