Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 3, 2013

House of Burgess: SCOTUS giveth, then it taketh

Supreme Court issues several historic decisions.

Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court issued four of the most consequential rulings in years as a final capper to its current term. If nothing else, it was a sound reminder of the power nine human beings have over everyone else who lives here, for good or ill. Here’s a rundown of the decisions:

Fisher v. University of Texas

This case was more about what didn’t happen: Affirmative action is not dead. Good thing, too. Moving on …

United States v. Windsor

The Defense of Marriage Act was an indefensible blunder on the part of President William Jefferson Clinton. Here he is being interviewed by The Advocate in late June 1996, just before he signed the codified discrimination into law. “I remain opposed to same-sex marriage,” he said. “I believe marriage is an institution for the union of a man and a woman. This has been my long-standing position, and it is not being reviewed or reconsidered.” Jerry Falwell couldn’t have said it better himself, I’m sure. Clinton really let everyone down by playing along with this Bob Barr-penned fiasco in the first place. (To be fair, he has since shifted his stance, penning an op-ed for the Washington Post earlier this year entitled, “It’s time to overturn DOMA.”) By a 5-4 decision, that mistake has finally been amended. In the now 13 states where gay marriage is legal, that union now means something in a practical sense when it counts. Which brings us to …

Hollingsworth v. Perry

I was lucky enough to be an eligible voter in the state of California in 2008. This afforded me the distinct pleasure of voting against Proposition 8, which constitutionally banned same-sex marriage in the Golden State. I and my fellow 6,401,481 concurring registered voters finally had our voices heard five years later when the court ruled it unconstitutional. I was pretty sure the court would turn its back on Prop. 8, I just didn’t want to get my hopes up. I was heartened by the fact the state did not even show up in district court to defend the ballot initiative. However, I am saddened the court left the other 37 states in the nation awaiting a future court challenge to finally finish the job of legalizing gay marriage everywhere. It could have gone a lot worse, though. But, then, I reject the entire premise from the start: Two consenting, nonrelated adults shouldn’t have to answer to anyone, including me, about whom they love or why. It’s not something to be voted upon in the first place. (Are you listening, Gov. Mike Pence?) Speaking of voting …

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll