Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 3, 2013

July 3, 2013: Letters to the editor

You cannot argue against experience

The article “Consumer group enters the wind farm battle” in the Kokomo Tribune was an interesting read — interesting, but misleading.

The so-called Citizens Action Coalition (CAC), which you list as a “state consumer rights organization,” is nothing more than a left-wing liberal tree-hugging group whose goal is to push its own agenda, regardless of facts. (Note: I have no problem with environmentalists, as I love our environment as well, but not when it infringes on people’s rights, and especially when deception is used).

Kerwin Olson, executive director of CAC, plays the accuse-and-mislead game by saying things like “another unknown is how the anti-wind organizations are being funded” and “we would question the motives of those opposed to wind energy.” Nothing like planting doubt into the motives of people.

The local wind opponents have been very open and have offered to share where the money comes from: local people, farmers, landowners, teachers, pastors, etc., who are opposed to the raping of our county! I’ve been to the CAC website. Much of the funding sources it lists are groups like the Sierra Club, liberal trusts and the like.

Olson says any property value decrease claims are simply not true, but then follows it with admitting, “It’s too early to know of the impact in Indiana”. He does admit “… there could be some validity to health claims”. He easily dismissed most all claims, studies and evidence that has been presented as “off-the-wall, unsubstantiated statements”, neglecting to ever look into the actual issues or the peer-reviewed studies and experts behind them.

It’s easy to accuse someone as having an agenda and making things up, but let’s look at the facts! If there are false facts being presented, point to it, each one, and show the evidence that “proves” the statement is wrong! I don’t think that can be done.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll