Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 3, 2013

Celebrate the summer

This is the time of year when Greentown comes alive. A small, quiet town — except during Friday night football games and whenever the high school marching band is practicing — this eastern Howard County community will reverberate with the sounds of the midway, motorcycle races, a demolition derby and nightly musical acts, including a Beatles tribute band.

The Howard County 4-H Fair starts up this weekend, and we encourage you to celebrate summer at one of the state’s largest county fairs.

Used to be, 4-H fairs were about pigs, cows and sows. Today, they’re more about 4-H projects, gardening and arts and crafts.

On Monday, all 4-H exhibits will open at 2 p.m. Midway rides open at 3 p.m., and the Miss Howard County Fair Queen Pageant begins at 8 p.m. at the south grandstand.

Tuesday is Kokomo Tribune Day (you won’t want to miss that!). Poultry, beef and dairy judging begins at 9 a.m. Sheep judging gets underway at 5 p.m.

New this year is the Texaco Country Showdown. Sponsored by WWKI-FM, it’s a talent contest for country vocalists, instrumentalists or bands of seven members or fewer. The contest starts Monday and will continue the rest of the week at 7:30 p.m in the Pioneer Village.

The contest winner advances to the state competition. On the line at that event is a $1,000 prize and the opportunity to advance to one of five regional finals — the last step to the televised national contest.

There will be a lot to do, see and eat, but take time to support Howard County’s 4-H members, our 5-, 6-, 7- and 8-year-olds in Mini 4-H, the 100 project leaders and the county’s two dozen 4-H clubs.

Howard County’s first 4-H exhibit was held in Kokomo in 1931. The fair moved to Greentown in 1946 and has been there ever since.

We know money is tight, and many here won’t be leaving town for a summer vacation. But consider treating your family to a day at the fair.

4-H’ers always appreciate the interest and support of the Howard County community.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll