Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 7, 2013

MICHAEL HICKS: We need a better immigration policy

As a practical matter, immigration is broken.

More than a quar-ter century ago, this columnist (then a fresh-faced second lieutenant of infantry) was assigned to a basic training company. Among the drill sergeants of E Company were several who were not citizens of our republic. One in particular, who provided steady guidance to that young officer, displayed an unabashed patriotism that was largely out of favor at the time. Each morning and evening as the flag was hoisted and lowered, he made a point to stand outside and salute the colors. This was a small thing beside the grandly patriotic service he provided, but over the years that gesture remains with me. My experiences make it a struggle to write dispassionately about immigration policy.

As a practical matter, our immigration policy is broken. We could absorb many of the best-educated workers in the world, but we encumber them in decades of costly red tape. Instead of reaping the economic benefits of the labor of these men and women, we send them elsewhere, to boost the economies of Canada, Britain and Germany.

We are a land of opportunity, and so attract many low-skilled yet highly motivated workers from around the world. Instead of permitting them to work here lawfully, we offer them a Hobsen’s choice of prosperous liberty while breaking our immigration laws, or obeying them in destitution. That is not the behavior of a nation with aspirations of enduring greatness.

There is also a moral and philosophical dimension to the immigration debate. The men and women who seek to be Americans, to live in our nation and to prosper in freedom, should be more than welcomed. Indeed we should seek them out. They are an example to those of us whose appreciation for this republic has grown cynical and stale.

I have a name for the example of hard work and sacrifice that I see in those men and women who leave family and home to come to my country to build a better life. I call it conservative values, and it is what Mrs. Hicks and I try to teach our children. We also teach our kids that among the many steadfast immigrants from whom they descend, there is at least one who made the transit on King George’s prison barge.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll