Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 5, 2013

July 7, 2013: Letters to the editor

Oil, coal have much to gain in wind fight

Of all current hot-button issues, one of the hottest is the issue of wind farms. Since I have no dog in this particular fight, I have held my silence. Lately, however, I’ve had second thoughts. But first, some limited, firsthand knowledge, as well as my personal opinion.

When I was living in Southern California, I worked as a shuttle driver for several used-car dealers from early 1972 to late 1973. And from 1989 to 1991, I worked as a “hiker” for Budget Rent A Car in Van Nuys.

In 1973, while driving from Van Nuys to Fillmore on Calif. 125, I observed a small wind farm near the Sespe citrus orchard east of Fillmore.

Then in 1990, while shuttling a car from Van Nuys to Palm Springs, I saw my second, larger wind farm. To get to Palm Springs from Los Angeles, one must drive northwest on I-10. Roughly 5 to 8 miles east of Palm Springs is the junction of I-10 and Calif. 111, which approaches Palm Springs to the south.

Lately we’ve been hearing a lot of negatives, such as excessive vibration and “shadow flicker,” issues I never heard of until the issues were raised in connection with Greentown and Tipton. I never even heard any negatives in reference to the three wind turbines on West Markland, across from the former Continental Steel site.

While reading the various negatives out of Greentown and Tipton, I got to thinking about how these tactics cannot be too far removed from those that might be employed by either the coal or petroleum lobbies. Both Big Oil and Big Coal would have a lot to gain if they could discredit wind, solar, as well as other green technologies.

Kenneth Crockett

Kokomo

Some of our motives against wind farms

I found the last line of the article “Consumer group enters the wind farm battle” in the July 1 Kokomo Tribune loaded with irony. The last line quoted Kerwin Olson, executive director of Citizens Action Coalition, stating, “We would question the motives of those opposed to wind energy.” Really?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll