Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 5, 2013

July 7, 2013: Letters to the editor

Oil, coal have much to gain in wind fight

Of all current hot-button issues, one of the hottest is the issue of wind farms. Since I have no dog in this particular fight, I have held my silence. Lately, however, I’ve had second thoughts. But first, some limited, firsthand knowledge, as well as my personal opinion.

When I was living in Southern California, I worked as a shuttle driver for several used-car dealers from early 1972 to late 1973. And from 1989 to 1991, I worked as a “hiker” for Budget Rent A Car in Van Nuys.

In 1973, while driving from Van Nuys to Fillmore on Calif. 125, I observed a small wind farm near the Sespe citrus orchard east of Fillmore.

Then in 1990, while shuttling a car from Van Nuys to Palm Springs, I saw my second, larger wind farm. To get to Palm Springs from Los Angeles, one must drive northwest on I-10. Roughly 5 to 8 miles east of Palm Springs is the junction of I-10 and Calif. 111, which approaches Palm Springs to the south.

Lately we’ve been hearing a lot of negatives, such as excessive vibration and “shadow flicker,” issues I never heard of until the issues were raised in connection with Greentown and Tipton. I never even heard any negatives in reference to the three wind turbines on West Markland, across from the former Continental Steel site.

While reading the various negatives out of Greentown and Tipton, I got to thinking about how these tactics cannot be too far removed from those that might be employed by either the coal or petroleum lobbies. Both Big Oil and Big Coal would have a lot to gain if they could discredit wind, solar, as well as other green technologies.

Kenneth Crockett

Kokomo

Some of our motives against wind farms

I found the last line of the article “Consumer group enters the wind farm battle” in the July 1 Kokomo Tribune loaded with irony. The last line quoted Kerwin Olson, executive director of Citizens Action Coalition, stating, “We would question the motives of those opposed to wind energy.” Really?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

  • Cleaning up voter rolls Citizens should expect the voting process for electing government representatives at all levels to be efficient and of the highest integrity. Indiana's system in recent years has at times been manipulated for political purposes -- the voter ID system

    August 20, 2014

  • House of Burgess: First Amendment assault in Ferguson Of all the outrageous and disturbing story lines emanating from Ferguson, Missouri, since unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown was shot by Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson on Aug. 9, the targeting of journalists during the ensuing pro

    August 20, 2014

  • Moped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mopeds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana. A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners returned sprits to Indiana State Fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week.When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putti

    August 19, 2014

  • LETTERS: Support Connie Brown; wind agreement termination Connie Brown for county clerkConnie Brown is an excellent person to serve as county clerk. She is kind, generous, and dedicated to what she does. Having served with her on the Stonybrook Board for six years, I have come to know her and respect her ta

    August 19, 2014

  • Indiana budget woes put new focus on 'reversions' When is a budget cut not a cut? In Indiana, it’s when it’s a reversion.Budget cuts, via reversions, were at the center of a pair of big decisions last week, putting the tactic used by both Democratic and Republican governors in the spotlight.State Bu

    August 19, 2014

  • How to care for our children and their children INDIANAPOLIS – Let’s ponder “our children” and “their children.”First, Gov. Mike Pence made a wise call this past week when he ordered the Department of Child Services to begin reimbursing families who had adopted special needs children.A class actio

    August 18, 2014

  • Aug. 18: Letters to the Editor Sick of allthe wind talkI am going to rant a bit. I am sick and tired of opening up the paper and there is another letter about windmills. We have so much going on in the world. We have children getting beheaded, presidents always on vacation, an eco

    August 18, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Deadly Landslides in Japan Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Arrests Witnessed in Ferguson Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape Texas Gov. Perry: Indictment 'a Political Act' US Officials: Video Shows American's Beheading Video Shows Ferguson Cop Months Before Shooting Heavy Rains Flood Arizona Roads US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll