Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 9, 2013

MAUREEN HAYDEN: Despite 6-year term, Donnelly travels Ind.

Senator won't make mistake Lugar did

On a recent night, I was with two of my favorite family members in a hospitality suite at the sold-out Verizon Center in Washington, D.C., enjoying the Rolling Stones in their final concert of their 50 & Counting North American tour.

What was Joe Donnelly, the junior senator from Indiana, doing that evening? Calling it an early night after microwaving himself a frozen Lean Cuisine dinner. He’d flown in from Indiana that morning, after his routine weekly trip to his home state.

The night before that, Donnelly was in the small Indiana town of La Paz, population of 561, greeting about 75 people as they worked their way through the buffet line at the annual Marshall County Jefferson-Jackson Dinner. As he shook hands with Democratic loyalists, they bended his ear about Obamacare, the stalled farm bill and immigration reform.

Earlier last week, Donnelly launched his fifth state tour since taking office in January. Typical of his other tours, he crisscrossed the state, hosting meetings at a bakery, a bar and grill, an elementary school, and the office of an IHOP restaurant’s franchise owner.

Those are the kinds of places where Donnelly spends a lot of time on his frequent trips back home. His staff has come to expect a flood of phone calls and emails when they come to work on Monday mornings; that’s because their boss often tells people he meets: If you need something, call my office.

Those calls, emails and letters come in the “tens of thousands,” according to his press staff. That doesn’t include the constituent services caseload, which are specific requests from people back home who need help resolving a problem with a federal agency. His staff has about 900 cases they’ve closed or are working on.

Donnelly is not up for re-election until 2018, so you’d think he could take a bit of a break. But he’s also a Democrat in a Republican state who wasn’t supposed to win, which is why if you Google his name, you may see the words “accidental senator” in news stories about him.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll