Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 13, 2013

July 13, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘The hands and feet of Christ’

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer for Delphi Automotive Corp. and its employees:

“Sunshine and warm weather were a welcome sight for the 25 Delphi Corp. volunteers who helped at the Kokomo Rescue Mission for another successful ‘Delphi Gives Back Day’ on June 21. Their combined effort moved 2.7 tons of lava rock and three large shrubs, trimmed bushes and trees, planted five flats of flowers, used 2 gallons of stain to refinish a fence, and spread a total of 6 gallons of paint to restripe several parking areas and re-paint the front of a warehouse.

“Delphi employees and family members worked late into the afternoon at the several Kokomo Rescue Mission buildings to be the hands and feet of Christ as they gave of themselves.

“The KRM staff and guests would like to sincerely thank each person who volunteered their time, skills and energy to beautify, refurbish and revamp these locations. We are fortunate to live in a caring community where companies and individuals truly believe in helping each other and are genuinely concerned about the plight of those less fortunate. We are genuinely blessed!

“To the volunteers, thank you for sacrificing your time to help the Mission continue to provide a comfortable and welcoming place for those in the community who may need a safe place to stay or a hot meal. Your work helps ensure there is a safe haven for those in desperate need. Thank you again for your compassion and empathy that moved you to action. We are grateful for your service!”

A benefit for youth, community

David and Nancy Frazier of Tipton, race directors of the Run To The Cross 5K, send this Cheer:

“The Run To The Cross 5K was a great success again this year. Money was raised to provide scholarships for our local youth to attend church camp. All participants received a shirt, along with a wooden cross necklace for all finishers.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll