Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 13, 2013

July 13, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘The hands and feet of Christ’

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer for Delphi Automotive Corp. and its employees:

“Sunshine and warm weather were a welcome sight for the 25 Delphi Corp. volunteers who helped at the Kokomo Rescue Mission for another successful ‘Delphi Gives Back Day’ on June 21. Their combined effort moved 2.7 tons of lava rock and three large shrubs, trimmed bushes and trees, planted five flats of flowers, used 2 gallons of stain to refinish a fence, and spread a total of 6 gallons of paint to restripe several parking areas and re-paint the front of a warehouse.

“Delphi employees and family members worked late into the afternoon at the several Kokomo Rescue Mission buildings to be the hands and feet of Christ as they gave of themselves.

“The KRM staff and guests would like to sincerely thank each person who volunteered their time, skills and energy to beautify, refurbish and revamp these locations. We are fortunate to live in a caring community where companies and individuals truly believe in helping each other and are genuinely concerned about the plight of those less fortunate. We are genuinely blessed!

“To the volunteers, thank you for sacrificing your time to help the Mission continue to provide a comfortable and welcoming place for those in the community who may need a safe place to stay or a hot meal. Your work helps ensure there is a safe haven for those in desperate need. Thank you again for your compassion and empathy that moved you to action. We are grateful for your service!”

A benefit for youth, community

David and Nancy Frazier of Tipton, race directors of the Run To The Cross 5K, send this Cheer:

“The Run To The Cross 5K was a great success again this year. Money was raised to provide scholarships for our local youth to attend church camp. All participants received a shirt, along with a wooden cross necklace for all finishers.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll