Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 13, 2013

July 13, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

“Thanks to Ryan Schueler for designing the race shirt and Screeners Ink for a fast and fantastic job of printing.

“We believe this year’s event was a great benefit not only to our local youth, but also to the local community. We again thank everyone involved and look forward to next year.”

‘Above-and-beyond community support’

Dennis Morgan, executive director of the Carver Community Center, sends this Cheer for those who made Rib Fest possible:

“The Carver Board of Directors and staff is sending out the biggest thank-you ever for the wonderful, above-and-beyond community support that was given on June 7 and 8 in Foster Park by our attendees, community partners, numerous supporters, families, our 200-plus volunteers to 2013 Rib Fest, and especially Evon Whitfield for her management of the Beer Garden and TaMara Smith and Fredrick Murrell for managing the corn booth.

“Commencing Friday with the entertainment rendered by the Northwestern High School Jazz Band and Rhum Academy of Music, Rib Fest 2013 got off to a fantastic start! Saturday started with a patriotic salute to our country, which included the Posting of Colors by the U.S. Army Recruiting Station of Kokomo and a breathtaking rendition of the National Anthem performed by a local songstress, Hallie Fletcher. I also want to thank all the bands that participated in providing our entertainment for June 8: 23-10, The Pummels, 26 West, Token Blue, Shiny Penny & Critical Shoes, and the Contours featuring Sylvester Potts.

“To all our food and children activities vendors, we send a thank-you, which included Rollin Wit Da Roux (Best Sauce award winner) and Hawg Heaven/Dinner Bell (awarded Best Ribs, and People’s Choice for most sales).

“We especially thank the following: Hawg Heaven/Dinner Bell (ticket sponsor), Whiskey Creek (beer garden sponsor), McGonigal’s/Button Motor’s, Mid American Beverage, Soupley’s Wine & Spirit, Coca-Cola Bottling of Kokomo, Meijer’s (sweet corn donation), Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union, John Martino and the Kokomo Park and Recreation Department, Sheriff’s Department, Kokomo Police Department, Howard County Emergency Assistance Team, Street Department, Radio Stations Rock 98.5, WIOU, Z92.5, and emcees/on-air broadcasters Jessica Funk, Michael Turner and Chris Skala, Mayor Greg Goodnight , Kokomo Center Township School Corporation, Kokomo Perspective, Kokomo Tribune, Kokomo Herald and the United Way of Howard County among many others for making this one of the greatest events yet.

“The profit generated from the Rib Fest will be used to directly support our youth and family programs, facility improvement projects and the daily operation of our community center. Carver is a United Way funded agency.

“Upcoming community events scheduled by Carver Community Center are Aug.10 and 11, Studebaker Park, Summerfest; 24th Annual Golf Outing at Wildcat Creek, Aug. 16, 17 and 18; and Carver Gospel Fest at Foster Park on Saturday, Aug. 31.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll