Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 12, 2012

Mourdock criticism based on bad info

In a recent letter to the editor, a writer scolds state Treasurer and Senate candidate Richard Mourdock for purchasing Chrysler bonds with state funds in an effort “to make a quick killing.” The letter writer goes on to reprimand Mourdock for “playing ‘Bond Market Speculator’” before chiding, “Isn’t the expected standard for government treasurers that they make only safe investments protecting our tax dollars?” What nonsense.

The letter writer’s main problem is that his entire argument hinges upon the interpretation of Mourdock’s actions offered by the Kokomo Tribune’s perilously liberal “Public Eye” column – a weekly feature that allows space for Scott Smith and Ken de la Bastide to regularly shill for Democratic candidates and causes. It was Smith and de la Bastide who used the phrase “make a quick killing,” not Mourdock. In other words, the credibility of the entire rant is contingent upon the accuracy of the Public Eye. Talk about thin ice.

If the letter writer is really wanting to offer a meaningful critique and explain to the people of Howard County why he thinks investing in Chrysler and its workers was such a foolish and ignorant proposition, he should set aside left-wing political columns and consider that Indiana’s portfolio managers all felt at the time the Chrysler investment was a safe one. In fact, as it turned out, the only thing that imperiled the investment was the Obama administration’s decision to abandon 200 years of debtor law, illegally repaying unsecured creditors (like his union buddies in the UAW) before secured creditors (like the Indiana investments). And the letter writer might note such cronyism had the full-throated endorsement from Mourdock’s Senate opponent, Joe Donnelly.

Though the letter writer impugns Mr. Mourdock’s decision making, the real scrutiny should be focused on Mr. Donnelly’s shameful opportunism. Do we really want a senator who so willingly subverts the rule of law when he sees a political benefit in doing so?

Peter Heck, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll