Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 12, 2012

Mourdock criticism based on bad info

In a recent letter to the editor, a writer scolds state Treasurer and Senate candidate Richard Mourdock for purchasing Chrysler bonds with state funds in an effort “to make a quick killing.” The letter writer goes on to reprimand Mourdock for “playing ‘Bond Market Speculator’” before chiding, “Isn’t the expected standard for government treasurers that they make only safe investments protecting our tax dollars?” What nonsense.

The letter writer’s main problem is that his entire argument hinges upon the interpretation of Mourdock’s actions offered by the Kokomo Tribune’s perilously liberal “Public Eye” column – a weekly feature that allows space for Scott Smith and Ken de la Bastide to regularly shill for Democratic candidates and causes. It was Smith and de la Bastide who used the phrase “make a quick killing,” not Mourdock. In other words, the credibility of the entire rant is contingent upon the accuracy of the Public Eye. Talk about thin ice.

If the letter writer is really wanting to offer a meaningful critique and explain to the people of Howard County why he thinks investing in Chrysler and its workers was such a foolish and ignorant proposition, he should set aside left-wing political columns and consider that Indiana’s portfolio managers all felt at the time the Chrysler investment was a safe one. In fact, as it turned out, the only thing that imperiled the investment was the Obama administration’s decision to abandon 200 years of debtor law, illegally repaying unsecured creditors (like his union buddies in the UAW) before secured creditors (like the Indiana investments). And the letter writer might note such cronyism had the full-throated endorsement from Mourdock’s Senate opponent, Joe Donnelly.

Though the letter writer impugns Mr. Mourdock’s decision making, the real scrutiny should be focused on Mr. Donnelly’s shameful opportunism. Do we really want a senator who so willingly subverts the rule of law when he sees a political benefit in doing so?

Peter Heck, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll