Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 12, 2012

(Continued)

 

Privatized lottery: ‘FSSA fiasco’ redux

One would assume the state of Indiana would’ve learned its lesson when it comes to privatization. It was only a few short years ago that the state privatized the welfare system, taking a system that was working well, resulting in what came to be known as the “FSSA fiasco.”

Over the years I’ve been an infrequent participant in the lottery. Infrequent, but a participant nonetheless. That will no longer be true if the Hoosier Lottery privatizes. I do not need the headaches that will most certainly follow if the state fails to come to its senses by going ahead and privatizing the lottery. If that does happen it will be the FSSA all over again.

Kenneth Crockett, Kokomo

 

‘We need leaders to work together’

If you have been watching “Dancing with the Stars,” “Survivor,” etc., you are what we call a low-information voter. You probably thought Mitt Romney won the first debate.

But that’s not the Mitt Romney we have watched for the last six years. This man will say or do anything to have the power of the White House.

He has accepted most of Paul Ryan’s budget as his own. He considers most of us moochers, dependent upon disability, unemployment, Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid, which most of our elderly have when they are in nursing homes.

Then we have Mike Pence, an extreme, right-wing candidate for governor. It hasn’t been that long since he stood with the tea party in Washington, yelling, “Shut it down! Shut this government down!”

We need leaders to work together to keep this country on the right track.

Pence is ready to advocate for charter schools. These schools are for-profit schools. Our kids are becoming cash cows for the rich. George Bush’s brother has invested his own money in a charter school. Even Rupert Murdoch, owner of Fox News, said just last week he is ready to invest in this cash cow.

We need to invest in public schools, the great equalizer, and support our teachers.

Pence is ready to turn women’s health back decades, where women become second-class citizens. Republicans like Pence need to stay out of our personal lives and our bedrooms.

Republicans are using what they call the “Southern strategy.” We might as well be in Mississippi or Alabama, where the jobs are low-wage, where the rich are becoming school owners, where women are to stay barefoot, pregnant and keep their mouths shut.

We are better than that. We don’t need these people in office.

Clara Biddle, Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll