Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 12, 2012

(Continued)

 

Privatized lottery: ‘FSSA fiasco’ redux

One would assume the state of Indiana would’ve learned its lesson when it comes to privatization. It was only a few short years ago that the state privatized the welfare system, taking a system that was working well, resulting in what came to be known as the “FSSA fiasco.”

Over the years I’ve been an infrequent participant in the lottery. Infrequent, but a participant nonetheless. That will no longer be true if the Hoosier Lottery privatizes. I do not need the headaches that will most certainly follow if the state fails to come to its senses by going ahead and privatizing the lottery. If that does happen it will be the FSSA all over again.

Kenneth Crockett, Kokomo

 

‘We need leaders to work together’

If you have been watching “Dancing with the Stars,” “Survivor,” etc., you are what we call a low-information voter. You probably thought Mitt Romney won the first debate.

But that’s not the Mitt Romney we have watched for the last six years. This man will say or do anything to have the power of the White House.

He has accepted most of Paul Ryan’s budget as his own. He considers most of us moochers, dependent upon disability, unemployment, Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid, which most of our elderly have when they are in nursing homes.

Then we have Mike Pence, an extreme, right-wing candidate for governor. It hasn’t been that long since he stood with the tea party in Washington, yelling, “Shut it down! Shut this government down!”

We need leaders to work together to keep this country on the right track.

Pence is ready to advocate for charter schools. These schools are for-profit schools. Our kids are becoming cash cows for the rich. George Bush’s brother has invested his own money in a charter school. Even Rupert Murdoch, owner of Fox News, said just last week he is ready to invest in this cash cow.

We need to invest in public schools, the great equalizer, and support our teachers.

Pence is ready to turn women’s health back decades, where women become second-class citizens. Republicans like Pence need to stay out of our personal lives and our bedrooms.

Republicans are using what they call the “Southern strategy.” We might as well be in Mississippi or Alabama, where the jobs are low-wage, where the rich are becoming school owners, where women are to stay barefoot, pregnant and keep their mouths shut.

We are better than that. We don’t need these people in office.

Clara Biddle, Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll