Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 18, 2013

Public eye, Aug. 18, 2013

Dems wary of vote centers

Howard County Democratic Party Chairman David Tharp appointed retired auto worker Glenn Rodgers and attorney Derick Steele as the Democratic Party’s representation to the newly-established committee on vote centers.

“Derick Steele and Glenn Rodgers are committed to making the voting process as easy and straightforward as possible for Howard County voters and will serve the citizens of Howard County and the Democratic Party well on this committee,” Tharp said. “Glenn brings decades of experience in the electoral process, a background in organized labor, and strong community involvement to the table. As an attorney, Derick brings a legal background and a commitment to looking out for everyone in our community. They have the passion, knowledge and experience necessary to study this complex issue.”

Tharp doesn’t sound entirely thrilled about the vote center idea, saying Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson, a Republican, had “attempted to ramrod this radical change through without following state law.”

“Vote centers are not a one-size-fits-all solution to electoral woes. A switch to vote centers would be one of the largest structural changes in the electoral process in generations. This is why we need to carefully study the issue and proceed based on facts, not unfounded claims,” he said in a statement.

Howard County Republican Party Chairman Craig Dunn and local Republican JoElla Maugans are the Republican appointees to the committee.

Another try in 2014?

Kokomo attorney Hans Pate may be considering running against Howard County Circuit Court Judge Lynn Murray, or at least he says he’s been urged to run by Howard County Republican Party Chairman Craig Dunn and other local Republicans.

Pate narrowly lost the 2012 Republican primary for the Howard Superior Court 4 judgeship to George Hopkins, a race Pate said was as much about principle as it was the office itself.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll