Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 21, 2013

House of Burgess: 'Seaver Fever' strikes Kokomo

Kirk Cameron wants to save your marriage.

As it turned out, I only had the opportunity to ask Kirk Cameron one question Saturday, but I think I made it count.

The occasion was his Love Worth Fighting For Tour, sponsored by Moody Radio, The Love Shirts and evangelical nonprofits Crown Financial Services and Feed the Hungry. The actor was joined by musician Warren Barfield, whose song “Love Is Not a Fight” was featured in Cameron’s 2008 movie “Fireproof.”

At around 4:15 p.m. when the V.I.P. Q&A session began at First Church of the Nazarene, Cameron appeared on stage in jeans and a red T-shirt with the words “MY WIFE ROCKS.” He told us in “Fireproof” his wife of 22 years, Chelsea Noble, appears as an uncredited photo double for his on-screen spouse (Erin Betha) in a scene where the characters embrace.

“I don’t kiss women who aren’t my wife,” he said.

Right before the end of the session, he acknowledged me.

“So, you were an atheist until your late teens, when you converted,” I said. “Most people probably, at least initially, know you from ‘Growing Pains.’ … If you had had the faith you have now from the beginning, would you still have been on the show?”

Pause.

“I feel so bad about what I’m going to say, because I know you guys love ‘Growing Pains’ so much,” he said. “I have standards today that I did not have [then.] … My kids have never seen an episode of ‘Growing Pains.’”

Later, he told me he knew I wrote for the newspaper because my question was too thoughtful and I had immediately written down what he said. Perhaps the fact his character’s mother, Maggie Seaver (Joanna Kerns), was a journalist contributed to his intuition. That, I thought, was that.

But when he re-emerged at 6:22 p.m. to a standing ovation from a packed house of mostly couples, I knew differently. Cellphones emerged en masse, flashing. No sooner had he high-fived every male in the front row, Cameron was back on the dais — his natural habitat. He said he knew the women wouldn’t be able to concentrate until he provided relief from what he called “Seaver Fever.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll