Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 21, 2013

House of Burgess: 'Seaver Fever' strikes Kokomo

Kirk Cameron wants to save your marriage.

As it turned out, I only had the opportunity to ask Kirk Cameron one question Saturday, but I think I made it count.

The occasion was his Love Worth Fighting For Tour, sponsored by Moody Radio, The Love Shirts and evangelical nonprofits Crown Financial Services and Feed the Hungry. The actor was joined by musician Warren Barfield, whose song “Love Is Not a Fight” was featured in Cameron’s 2008 movie “Fireproof.”

At around 4:15 p.m. when the V.I.P. Q&A session began at First Church of the Nazarene, Cameron appeared on stage in jeans and a red T-shirt with the words “MY WIFE ROCKS.” He told us in “Fireproof” his wife of 22 years, Chelsea Noble, appears as an uncredited photo double for his on-screen spouse (Erin Betha) in a scene where the characters embrace.

“I don’t kiss women who aren’t my wife,” he said.

Right before the end of the session, he acknowledged me.

“So, you were an atheist until your late teens, when you converted,” I said. “Most people probably, at least initially, know you from ‘Growing Pains.’ … If you had had the faith you have now from the beginning, would you still have been on the show?”

Pause.

“I feel so bad about what I’m going to say, because I know you guys love ‘Growing Pains’ so much,” he said. “I have standards today that I did not have [then.] … My kids have never seen an episode of ‘Growing Pains.’”

Later, he told me he knew I wrote for the newspaper because my question was too thoughtful and I had immediately written down what he said. Perhaps the fact his character’s mother, Maggie Seaver (Joanna Kerns), was a journalist contributed to his intuition. That, I thought, was that.

But when he re-emerged at 6:22 p.m. to a standing ovation from a packed house of mostly couples, I knew differently. Cellphones emerged en masse, flashing. No sooner had he high-fived every male in the front row, Cameron was back on the dais — his natural habitat. He said he knew the women wouldn’t be able to concentrate until he provided relief from what he called “Seaver Fever.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll