Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 21, 2013

Aug. 21, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

The new building became a monument to Commissioner Off. Begun on April 6, 1893, it measured 92 feet by 125 feet, rose 66 feet up the walls to where the roof began, and the northwest corner tower rose 206 feet above the Tipton County prairie.

The tower housed a clock with a specially cast striking bell weighing 3,000 pounds, 8-feet high and 4-feet wide at the bottom. It was originally operated by a time weight of 400 pounds, and a striking weight of 1,100 pounds that hung through four floors, but was later converted to an electric motor.

The time it took to wind the clock — said to be one hour’s steady cranking every week — was undoubtedly a factor in calling for the changeover.

Pierce & Morgan of Indianapolis were the contractors, and while they worked on the new building the various county offices were temporarily located in rooms around the square. Finally, on Oct. 16, 1894, Charles Pierce walked into the makeshift clerk’s office over the Blue Front Drug Store, handed deputy clerk J.O. Bunch a key, and announced, “She’s finished, and you can move in anytime!”

The new building was contracted for $183,411.30 and was completed within the appropriation.

Today “she” dominates the city skyline, and can be seen on the horizon for several miles from any direction. Like any fine lady, she lends great beauty to her surroundings and fills the downtown with her regality.

And she still serves the citizens of Tipton County, just like she was envisioned to do — 120 years ago!

Jeff Hatton

Greentown

Restructure school, employer websites

Recently, I have become aware of a “situation.” I became aware of it during the course of my job search activities.

If you are not regularly involved in the job search process, you may not have noticed the majority of employers currently hire online. Many of these potential employers have their websites linked to the websites of one or more online “schools.”

Also, many of these school websites are designed to lock up the process if you respond to the school in the negative, thus forcing you to accept these school pitches.

So what is the solution? For openers, restructure the employer and school websites to be totally independent from each other.

Kenneth Crockett

Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll