Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 21, 2013

Aug. 21, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

The new building became a monument to Commissioner Off. Begun on April 6, 1893, it measured 92 feet by 125 feet, rose 66 feet up the walls to where the roof began, and the northwest corner tower rose 206 feet above the Tipton County prairie.

The tower housed a clock with a specially cast striking bell weighing 3,000 pounds, 8-feet high and 4-feet wide at the bottom. It was originally operated by a time weight of 400 pounds, and a striking weight of 1,100 pounds that hung through four floors, but was later converted to an electric motor.

The time it took to wind the clock — said to be one hour’s steady cranking every week — was undoubtedly a factor in calling for the changeover.

Pierce & Morgan of Indianapolis were the contractors, and while they worked on the new building the various county offices were temporarily located in rooms around the square. Finally, on Oct. 16, 1894, Charles Pierce walked into the makeshift clerk’s office over the Blue Front Drug Store, handed deputy clerk J.O. Bunch a key, and announced, “She’s finished, and you can move in anytime!”

The new building was contracted for $183,411.30 and was completed within the appropriation.

Today “she” dominates the city skyline, and can be seen on the horizon for several miles from any direction. Like any fine lady, she lends great beauty to her surroundings and fills the downtown with her regality.

And she still serves the citizens of Tipton County, just like she was envisioned to do — 120 years ago!

Jeff Hatton

Greentown

Restructure school, employer websites

Recently, I have become aware of a “situation.” I became aware of it during the course of my job search activities.

If you are not regularly involved in the job search process, you may not have noticed the majority of employers currently hire online. Many of these potential employers have their websites linked to the websites of one or more online “schools.”

Also, many of these school websites are designed to lock up the process if you respond to the school in the negative, thus forcing you to accept these school pitches.

So what is the solution? For openers, restructure the employer and school websites to be totally independent from each other.

Kenneth Crockett

Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll