Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 22, 2013

JEFFREY McCALL: Limbaugh reaches 25 years on air, but future is uncertain

Another episode of advertiser outrage would change things.

An obscure radio an-

nouncer without a college degree was plucked from a Sacramento radio station in August 1988 and given a syndicated talk show on a 56-station network. Twenty-five years later, Rush Limbaugh is on 600 stations, reaching 15 million to 20 million listeners each week. Over the years, he has been lionized by loyal listeners who identify him as a surrogate spokesman for conservative views. He has been demonized by ideological foes on the left, keeping the liberal website Media Matters in a tizzy.

Limbaugh is the kind of personality about whom everybody has an opinion, usually an overstated one. B. Eric Rhoads, publisher of Radio Ink magazine, gushingly wrote last spring, “Rush Limbaugh saved the AM dial from extinction.” Certainly, Limbaugh’s success did generate listenership for many AM stations that developed the talk format when music formats left for FM, but other factors also helped save AM.

Political talk radio boomed in the late 1980s just after the Federal Communications Commission removed its Fairness Doctrine, which mandated balanced coverage of controversial issues. Limbaugh was among the first to exploit that new freedom to opine, but labeling him the savior of AM is too much. Sports talk also helped save AM, as did religious broadcasters and even Spanish-language stations. Besides, AM radio is not really saved. Only about 17 percent of all radio listening now is done with stations on the AM band.

President Obama also likes to talk about Limbaugh in exaggerated terms. He told GOP leaders in 2009, “You can’t listen to Rush Limbaugh and get things done.” Then this year, the president said Republican politicians fear Limbaugh, contributing to “gridlock that makes people cynical about government.” While it might be a clever rhetorical gimmick to hang Limbaugh around the GOP’s neck, it is ridiculous to assert that Limbaugh has the clout to create a great political impasse.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll