Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 22, 2013

Aug. 22, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

Even some leaseholders oppose the county’s wind farm plans and support the CRD’s efforts. I have had direct conversations with such families with signed leases.

Add to this the simple math that multiple times more nonparticipating homeowners live in the proposed footprints than do leaseholders. And pause to consider the likelihood that a citizen, who is not anticipating a large check from a wind energy company, would be excited by the idea of surrounding his home with these industrial giants.

I may have questionable taste, but I’ve never seen an industrial wind farm landscaping theme in my wife’s issues of Better Homes and Gardens.

The question of who is in the majority is not a debatable point.

Nathan D. Salsbery

Tipton

Ensure the safetyof abortion clinics

Details of the recent trial of Kermit Gosnell, a Philadelphia abortion doctor, have caused us to wonder about the condition of abortion clinics in Indiana.

Gosnell was found guilty by a jury of three counts of first-degree murder for killing children by “snipping” their necks after the child had survived an abortion, and one count of manslaughter for the death of Karnamaya Mongar after an abortion procedure. Karnamaya’s death was attributed, in part, to unwashed and contaminated medical instruments used in her procedure. Also from trial testimony, it appears the local Planned Parenthood office knew of these unsafe conditions in Gosnell’s clinic but never reported them to state authorities.

In Indiana abortion clinics, we wonder:

• How many abortions have resulted in babies born alive?

• How many babies, born alive, received life-saving care?

• Were any of these babies, born alive, killed or allowed to die?

• How many women died or suffered adverse side effects from the procedure?

We believe citizens of Indiana should contact Gov. Pence and our state representatives to ensure abortion clinics operating in our state meet the state’s minimum standards of an outpatient surgical center. Public investigations and hearings are needed. Gosnell’s situation in Philadelphia may be unique but maybe not!

John and Beverly Reishus

Kokomo

Take a stand

We welcome your letters. To ensure your letter is published in quick order:

• Hold your letter to 250 words or fewer.

• Sign your letter with your full name, address and daytime phone number so that authorship can be verified.

• Email your letter to jeff.kovaleski@kokomotribune com or mail to Opinions, Kokomo Tribune, 300 N. Union St., Kokomo, IN 46904.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

  • Cleaning up voter rolls Citizens should expect the voting process for electing government representatives at all levels to be efficient and of the highest integrity. Indiana's system in recent years has at times been manipulated for political purposes -- the voter ID system

    August 20, 2014

  • House of Burgess: First Amendment assault in Ferguson Of all the outrageous and disturbing story lines emanating from Ferguson, Missouri, since unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown was shot by Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson on Aug. 9, the targeting of journalists during the ensuing pro

    August 20, 2014

  • Moped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mopeds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana. A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners returned sprits to Indiana State Fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week.When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putti

    August 19, 2014

  • LETTERS: Support Connie Brown; wind agreement termination Connie Brown for county clerkConnie Brown is an excellent person to serve as county clerk. She is kind, generous, and dedicated to what she does. Having served with her on the Stonybrook Board for six years, I have come to know her and respect her ta

    August 19, 2014

  • Indiana budget woes put new focus on 'reversions' When is a budget cut not a cut? In Indiana, it’s when it’s a reversion.Budget cuts, via reversions, were at the center of a pair of big decisions last week, putting the tactic used by both Democratic and Republican governors in the spotlight.State Bu

    August 19, 2014

  • How to care for our children and their children INDIANAPOLIS – Let’s ponder “our children” and “their children.”First, Gov. Mike Pence made a wise call this past week when he ordered the Department of Child Services to begin reimbursing families who had adopted special needs children.A class actio

    August 18, 2014

  • Aug. 18: Letters to the Editor Sick of allthe wind talkI am going to rant a bit. I am sick and tired of opening up the paper and there is another letter about windmills. We have so much going on in the world. We have children getting beheaded, presidents always on vacation, an eco

    August 18, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Deadly Landslides in Japan Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Arrests Witnessed in Ferguson Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape Texas Gov. Perry: Indictment 'a Political Act' US Officials: Video Shows American's Beheading Video Shows Ferguson Cop Months Before Shooting Heavy Rains Flood Arizona Roads US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll