Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 23, 2013

Aug. 23, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

Bonnie Rawlings

Kokomo

Live without regrets; fight wind farms

Who among us hasn’t wished for a “do over”? Everyone has a regret, a life event for which we wish we could turn back the clock and change our course of action. Hindsight is 20/20.

We in Howard and Grant counties have an opportunity right now to change course and avoid monumental regrets. I’m speaking of the proposed wind projects that may come to our areas. Both county boards of commissioners have not yet reached the point of no return.

Our elected representatives, if they are ethical, at least started out wishing to serve the people who elected them. If they don’t hear from their constituents, they, hopefully, act in a moral, responsible way when making decisions. Can we ask more than that? We have a responsibility to inform them of our wishes, and if we do not, we deserve to bear the results of our apathy. But that could be a tough pill to swallow.

Remember when no one thought there was harm in asbestos? Cigarette smoking? Lead paint? X-ray machines in shoe departments? If we had known of the ill effects, wouldn’t we have spoken up? Doesn’t our government require warnings on cigarette packages?

The residents living near phase 1 of the Wildcat Wind Farm in Tipton and Madison counties have daily reminders of a misguided drive to “greenness” — they suffer in the shadow of nearly 500-foot tall wind turbines. Many of them have spoken out, trying to spare others from the same fate. They have filed more than 150 written complaints.

“Eternal vigilance is the price of liberty,” wrote Thomas Jefferson. We have a duty to be informed and involved in our democracy. If we give up this right, we forfeit what our forefathers, our fathers and grandfathers fought and died for. Please, if you haven’t been following this battle, start now. Don’t expect a few to carry the burden of defending the peace of rural life.

Go to easternhowardwind.com, grantcosetbacks.com or tiptonwindconcerns.com to begin your education on this pressing issue, and share the facts with your friends, family and neighbors. Then attend a county commissioners meeting and contact your commissioners. If you don’t, you may live to regret it.

Susie Cox

Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll