Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 23, 2013

Aug. 23, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

Bonnie Rawlings

Kokomo

Live without regrets; fight wind farms

Who among us hasn’t wished for a “do over”? Everyone has a regret, a life event for which we wish we could turn back the clock and change our course of action. Hindsight is 20/20.

We in Howard and Grant counties have an opportunity right now to change course and avoid monumental regrets. I’m speaking of the proposed wind projects that may come to our areas. Both county boards of commissioners have not yet reached the point of no return.

Our elected representatives, if they are ethical, at least started out wishing to serve the people who elected them. If they don’t hear from their constituents, they, hopefully, act in a moral, responsible way when making decisions. Can we ask more than that? We have a responsibility to inform them of our wishes, and if we do not, we deserve to bear the results of our apathy. But that could be a tough pill to swallow.

Remember when no one thought there was harm in asbestos? Cigarette smoking? Lead paint? X-ray machines in shoe departments? If we had known of the ill effects, wouldn’t we have spoken up? Doesn’t our government require warnings on cigarette packages?

The residents living near phase 1 of the Wildcat Wind Farm in Tipton and Madison counties have daily reminders of a misguided drive to “greenness” — they suffer in the shadow of nearly 500-foot tall wind turbines. Many of them have spoken out, trying to spare others from the same fate. They have filed more than 150 written complaints.

“Eternal vigilance is the price of liberty,” wrote Thomas Jefferson. We have a duty to be informed and involved in our democracy. If we give up this right, we forfeit what our forefathers, our fathers and grandfathers fought and died for. Please, if you haven’t been following this battle, start now. Don’t expect a few to carry the burden of defending the peace of rural life.

Go to easternhowardwind.com, grantcosetbacks.com or tiptonwindconcerns.com to begin your education on this pressing issue, and share the facts with your friends, family and neighbors. Then attend a county commissioners meeting and contact your commissioners. If you don’t, you may live to regret it.

Susie Cox

Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll