Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 25, 2013

Aug. 25, 2013: Letters to the editor

Support property guarantees, juwi

I’m writing in response to the article published regarding juwi Wind and its request to the Tipton Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) to drop the property value guarantee (PVG) requirement the BZA set forth in March.

In the article, juwi CEO Michael Rucker says the PVG is an unnecessary requirement and could set a precedent in trying to recruit new business in Tipton County.

Now, anyone following this ongoing battle with the wind companies has heard the influx of money into the county will, depending on where we are in the fight, save the schools, save the family farm, save the roads. Now juwi is worried about future economic development in our county.

Mr. Rucker, if you have that much care and concern for the future of Tipton County and by extension its residents, then providing a valid PVG should be of the utmost importance for you. However, I contend this newest request is more of the same disrespect you showed the BZA after it ruled against your request to modify the setback conditions.

Juwi is not wanted here, except by the few who will get to line their pockets, while the rest of us lose property value.

Theresa Vaughn

Tipton

Taxpayers will pay for wind turbines

Let your voice be heard before it is too late to stop the industrial wind farms from coming to your area.

Ask yourself, do you want more than 800 industrial wind turbines close to your home or property? I have not seen any farm leaseholders with wind turbines close to their homes. It is asinine to think that these monstrous turbines belong around any populated areas.

The people in Windfall are living in turmoil because of the many wind turbine problems. The wind farm companies have not kept their promises to correct these major issues. They have been dilatory in all matters.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll