Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 29, 2013

BOB ZALTSBERG: Lifeline Law makes room for discretion, lawmakers say

Legislation offers immunity when help sought due to alcohol consumption.

Indiana’s new Lifeline Law puts the safety of someone who needs medical care over any concern that a person calling for help could wind up in trouble because of an alcohol violation.

The man who shepherded the bill through the Statehouse, Sen. Jim Merritt, R-Indianapolis, stresses that’s the intent of the law: Safety first.

“We go back to the fact that nobody’s going to get mad that you called 911,” he said Monday.

Early Friday morning, that didn’t happen when people at a party where alcohol was being served found 19-year-old Rachael Fiege of Zionsville at the bottom of some basement stairs after an apparent fall. They told police they moved her to another room and monitored her overnight. When she couldn’t be awakened sometime after 7 a.m., they called for medical help.

She died Saturday.

Merritt said it’s difficult to talk about this particular case because many details aren’t known, such as whether Fiege was drinking or how much.

“There could have been people who were overserved [alcohol] that might have been fearful they could get in trouble,” he said. But if there’s a situation in which someone needs help, the law’s intent is to provide immunity to whomever makes the call, he said.

But the question exists: If Fiege’s injuries were not caused by alcohol, would the law have covered the underaged drinkers?

The new law lays out a set of circumstances in which immunity is given if help is sought “for an individual who reasonably appeared to be in need of medical assistance due to alcohol consumption.” What if help is called for someone who’s sober but otherwise injured?

Merritt said part of his reason for pushing the law was to fight binge drinking. But he believes the law should set in motion safety in a broader set of circumstances.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll