Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 31, 2013

Aug. 31, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Legends ‘set the bar high’

Dave Broman, executive director of the Howard County Historical Society, sends this Cheer to the community:

“Thank you for supporting the Howard County Hall of Legends. The 2013 induction banquet was a happy occasion and a well-deserved recognition of six remarkable people.

“Those who made the evening possible include our sponsors: the Ivy Tech Foundation, Liberty Financial Group, Haynes International, Bucheri, McCarty & Metz CPAs, Smith Financial, Kokomo Tribune, the Purdue Alumni Association, Kokomo Perspective, the City of Kokomo, Humphrey Printing, Indiana University Kokomo, Kokomo Opalescent Glass, Moore’s Home Health and Medical Supply, and St. Joseph St. Vincent Hospital.

“Thank you to the Hampton Inn in Kokomo for providing accommodations for Bob Knowling and family, and to Pastariffic for its wonderful service and attention to detail. The media did a wonderful job of telling the community about our legends, and all deserve gratitude: The Kokomo Tribune, Kokomo Perspective, Kokomo Herald, WWKI, WIOU and Z92.5. We owe a great debt to Craig Dunn and the Legends Committee, along with the many volunteers of the Howard County Historical Society for their time, energy and ideas.

“Thanks to everyone who attended — and to the remarkable individuals who are now officially Howard County Legends: Del Demaree, David Foster, John Hingst, Lt. Gen. William Kepner, Bob Knowling and E.P. Severns. They set the bar high, making us all better through their service and example.”

Thanks for to-your-door service

Gayle Maudlin of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library:

“I am unable to get out like I used to when I was younger, but the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library offers a service that brings me books of the genre I like and picks them up when I’m done. I told a woman who works there the kind of books I like, and much to my delight they are delivered to me.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll