Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 31, 2013

Aug. 31, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Legends ‘set the bar high’

Dave Broman, executive director of the Howard County Historical Society, sends this Cheer to the community:

“Thank you for supporting the Howard County Hall of Legends. The 2013 induction banquet was a happy occasion and a well-deserved recognition of six remarkable people.

“Those who made the evening possible include our sponsors: the Ivy Tech Foundation, Liberty Financial Group, Haynes International, Bucheri, McCarty & Metz CPAs, Smith Financial, Kokomo Tribune, the Purdue Alumni Association, Kokomo Perspective, the City of Kokomo, Humphrey Printing, Indiana University Kokomo, Kokomo Opalescent Glass, Moore’s Home Health and Medical Supply, and St. Joseph St. Vincent Hospital.

“Thank you to the Hampton Inn in Kokomo for providing accommodations for Bob Knowling and family, and to Pastariffic for its wonderful service and attention to detail. The media did a wonderful job of telling the community about our legends, and all deserve gratitude: The Kokomo Tribune, Kokomo Perspective, Kokomo Herald, WWKI, WIOU and Z92.5. We owe a great debt to Craig Dunn and the Legends Committee, along with the many volunteers of the Howard County Historical Society for their time, energy and ideas.

“Thanks to everyone who attended — and to the remarkable individuals who are now officially Howard County Legends: Del Demaree, David Foster, John Hingst, Lt. Gen. William Kepner, Bob Knowling and E.P. Severns. They set the bar high, making us all better through their service and example.”

Thanks for to-your-door service

Gayle Maudlin of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library:

“I am unable to get out like I used to when I was younger, but the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library offers a service that brings me books of the genre I like and picks them up when I’m done. I told a woman who works there the kind of books I like, and much to my delight they are delivered to me.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll