Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 31, 2013

Aug. 31, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

“Thank you so much, KHCPL. You are a true blessing!”

Helping kids get an education

Brian West of UAW Local 1166 and Cheryl Graham, United Way labor activity director, send this Cheer:

“As chairmen of the 2013 SUPPLIES program — a program coordinated by the Howard-Tipton Counties Central Labor Council with The Salvation Army, Chrysler, UAW, United Way and 20 additional community partners — we wish to express our thanks to all of the volunteers and organizations that helped us distribute school supplies to 1,049 children this year.

“Special thanks United Way and 2-1-1 United Way of Howard County for their support and assistance. The Salvation Army’s contribution of 500 backpacks and 200 from MDwise were a wonderful part of the effort. Thanks to UAW 685 for providing a home and refreshments for the program, and Chrysler for its help.

“Because of everyone’s support, we are able to help students in every school system in Howard County. Individual volunteers donated 700-plus hours of assistance during the week of distribution, and we couldn’t have done it without them. The Indiana Health Center scheduled appointments for school physicals and dental appointments, helping these children get medical services they need.

“SUPPLIES brings together numerous organizations to work toward a common goal: helping our children get a great education.

“The 2013 partners also include: UAW 685, UAW 685 Retirees, UAW 292, Howard-Tipton Counties CLC, United Way of Howard County, The Salvation Army, Plumbers and Pipefitters 440, UAW 292 Retirees, UAW 1166, UAW 1302, USW 2958, North Central Indiana Building Trades, Kokomo Teachers Association, NALC 533, OPEIU 1, IBEW 723, Chrysler, MDwise, Indiana Health Center, Bradford Health Services, Dan’s Donuts and Kokomo Fire Department.”

Business support a blessing

Bill Waggoner of Brookside Free Methodist Church sends this Cheer:

“I would like to thank the many businesses in the Kokomo area that help support non-profit organizations such as the Brookside FMC Paul Fausett Memorial Golf Scramble. Without your help, organizations such as ours would not be able to do much.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll