Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 6, 2013

STEPHEN M. KING: Strengthening our national character

America has left her roots of religious faith and moral foundation.

Mark Levin, lawyer, radio host and out-spoken libertarian, recently published “The Liberty Amend-ments” (2013), a book that undertakes the challenge to, as Levin puts it, “[restoring] constitutional republicanism and preserving the civil society from the growing authoritarianism of a federal Leviathan.” This challenge is met through instituting the second method of amending the Constitution, which is found in Article V of the U.S. Constitution.

This method stipulates application to Congress of two-thirds of state legislatures to call for a convention to propose amendments, and three-fourths ratification vote by all states. Levin contends this second method, which has never been used to successfully amend the U.S. Constitution, provides significant authority to states to “rebalance” the constitutional structure, and restore the founding principles of “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.”

Levin, however, is only one of many who have called for significant changes or challenges to government largesse, bureaucratic bungling and inefficient governance.

Larry Sabato, nationally recognized American politics scholar at the University of Virginia, published in 2007 “A More Perfect Constitution: 23 Proposals to Revitalize our Constitution and Make America a Fairer Country.” Sabato, like Levin, argues, first, that the Constitution needs to be changed, and, second, the changes wrought are not to disturb the fundamental governing principles instituted by the Founders.

Interestingly, despite Levin’s and Sabato’s personal ideological and political differences, both agree to constitutional changes in the Senate, limiting the overt political and policy influence of the Supreme Court, and restricting federal financial and debt obligations.

Not to be outdone, Cass Sunstein, author of the 2004 “The Second Bill of Rights: FDR’s Unfinished Revolution and Why We Need it More Than Ever,” also argues that the Constitution must be amended to provide for greater fairness and equality. For Sunstein this is accomplished by adopting FDR’s 1944 proposed “Second Bill of Rights,” a document that declares every American is entitled to a litany of “rights,” including an occupation, education, health care and home, among others.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll