Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 6, 2013

KENT BLACKLIDGE: 'Illegals' are owed no breaks

It's time to take care of U.S. citizens.

The logic for in-state tuition for illegal aliens, alias “undocu-mented workers,” is flawed from from the very onset. It makes no sense to give tuition breaks for education to illegal aliens in Indiana, when the same breaks are not available to legal residents (citizens of the United States) from Michigan or Illinois or Ohio or any other state in this country. The operative word here is “illegal.” The Kokomo Tribune and others want to use the politically correct term “undocumented,” which may sound better but still means someone in the United States who is in violation of law. That is as far as one needs to go. The so-called positive economic arguments made by Mark Heinig, a Tribune columnist, would apply to any additional students from outside Indiana.

And this is not the early 1900s or the 1800s or 1700s, in case it has not been noticed by Mr. Heinig. There is no longer a need for massive immigration, legal or illegal, in this country. Our current legal immigration rate is about 110,000 people per month. Let me repeat that ... 110,000 people per month, or about 1.32 million more people per year. No one knows really how many more are coming illegally. As world population continues to explode, there will be more and more pressure for a move of more and more people to this country. The truth is that the population of the United States would be now roughly stable without counting immigration. Several of the world’s developed countries have reached stable population levels. The United States is the aberration. And in case Mr. Heinig has not noticed either, unemployment levels are high throughout this country. It is time to take care of United States citizens.

Yes, there needs to be immigration reform, but not to raise immigration levels but rather to significantly reduce them. It is true that the 14th Amendment makes “anchor babies” citizens of the United States. There does need to be consideration for those who are, under law, citizens of the United States. There also needs to be consideration for the millions who have been in this country for years illegally, but there should never be a path to citizenship while there are thousands who have been in the legal lines awaiting a decision about legal immigration.

Again, there is no valid argument for tuition reduction for non-citizens of the United States, particularly if such non-citizens are in violation of our nation’s immigration laws.

Kent Blacklidge, Ph.D., is a former vice chancellor of external relations at IU Kokomo and past publisher of the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at kent@visionengineers.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll