Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 7, 2013

Sept. 7, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Cruise In draws its largest crowd

Jim Price, director of the Grissom Air Museum, sends this Cheer:

"Grissom Air Museum hosted its fourth annual Warbird Cruise In car show. We had 181 registered entries, and another 12 classics that arrived after registration closed. The GAM also welcomed another 800 guests, for what is the largest crowd in our four years.

"We gave away more than 50 awards, with the major awards being handed out to the following:

"Mike Grindle and his 1987 Autocycle won the Barry Riggs Memorial; Steve Leach and his 1977 Corvette won the Bud Fivecoate Memorial; Jon Schmidt and his 1944 Willys Jeep won the Commander's Trophy, and Bill Pavey and his 1955 Bel Air won the Warbird Trophy.

"George Mize provided great musical entertainment, and the Vohne Liche Kennels provided our visitors with a great show. Our food vendors, HOOS-UR-GRLS, Slappy’s BBQ, Kona Ice of Kokomo and International Circus Concessions provided outstanding food and drink. Our guests also had access to other vendors and exhibitors including Ivy Tech, Chris Ousley’s Allstate Insurance, and Paul Richards GM Center.

"Prizes were handed out and included two flights on a Huey helicopter, courtesy of the American 369 Group, three rides with our own Bob Barr in his T-34 Mentor, two tickets to see the Diamonds in concert, courtesy of Kokomo Community Concert, a bicycle courtesy of Regions Insurance, a suede jacket courtesy of Cass County Ford, and a $50 prepaid Visa card from Security Federal. Many of our area merchants also donated items that were given away to our guests and our car owners.

"The 2013 Warbird Cruise In was sponsored by Paul Richards GM Center, Jeffrey Price Law Office, Beacon Credit Union-West, Gallahan Oil Co., Eye Physicians Inc. and WOW TOYZ.

"We would like to thank all of the companies that supported this year’s car show, including Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Eriks Chevrolet, City Tire of Peru, RockAuto.com, Gateway Classic Cars, Clown Town Motorcycles, O’Reilly’s Auto Parts, AutoZone, NAPA, Johnny Law Motors, Outrageous Apparel, CDB Screen Printing, RDJ Specialties, Family Video, Amelio’s and Ike’s Sports Bar, Pizza Hut of Logansport, Dutch Café, Circus City Grill, Wells Fargo Bank, First Farmers Bank and Trust, Chizzy’s Pizza King, McDonald's, Cole Brothers Water, Marsh, Kroger and Outback Steakhouse.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll