Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 7, 2013

Sept. 7, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Cruise In draws its largest crowd

Jim Price, director of the Grissom Air Museum, sends this Cheer:

"Grissom Air Museum hosted its fourth annual Warbird Cruise In car show. We had 181 registered entries, and another 12 classics that arrived after registration closed. The GAM also welcomed another 800 guests, for what is the largest crowd in our four years.

"We gave away more than 50 awards, with the major awards being handed out to the following:

"Mike Grindle and his 1987 Autocycle won the Barry Riggs Memorial; Steve Leach and his 1977 Corvette won the Bud Fivecoate Memorial; Jon Schmidt and his 1944 Willys Jeep won the Commander's Trophy, and Bill Pavey and his 1955 Bel Air won the Warbird Trophy.

"George Mize provided great musical entertainment, and the Vohne Liche Kennels provided our visitors with a great show. Our food vendors, HOOS-UR-GRLS, Slappy’s BBQ, Kona Ice of Kokomo and International Circus Concessions provided outstanding food and drink. Our guests also had access to other vendors and exhibitors including Ivy Tech, Chris Ousley’s Allstate Insurance, and Paul Richards GM Center.

"Prizes were handed out and included two flights on a Huey helicopter, courtesy of the American 369 Group, three rides with our own Bob Barr in his T-34 Mentor, two tickets to see the Diamonds in concert, courtesy of Kokomo Community Concert, a bicycle courtesy of Regions Insurance, a suede jacket courtesy of Cass County Ford, and a $50 prepaid Visa card from Security Federal. Many of our area merchants also donated items that were given away to our guests and our car owners.

"The 2013 Warbird Cruise In was sponsored by Paul Richards GM Center, Jeffrey Price Law Office, Beacon Credit Union-West, Gallahan Oil Co., Eye Physicians Inc. and WOW TOYZ.

"We would like to thank all of the companies that supported this year’s car show, including Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Eriks Chevrolet, City Tire of Peru, RockAuto.com, Gateway Classic Cars, Clown Town Motorcycles, O’Reilly’s Auto Parts, AutoZone, NAPA, Johnny Law Motors, Outrageous Apparel, CDB Screen Printing, RDJ Specialties, Family Video, Amelio’s and Ike’s Sports Bar, Pizza Hut of Logansport, Dutch Café, Circus City Grill, Wells Fargo Bank, First Farmers Bank and Trust, Chizzy’s Pizza King, McDonald's, Cole Brothers Water, Marsh, Kroger and Outback Steakhouse.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll