Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 7, 2013

Sept. 7, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Cruise In draws its largest crowd

Jim Price, director of the Grissom Air Museum, sends this Cheer:

"Grissom Air Museum hosted its fourth annual Warbird Cruise In car show. We had 181 registered entries, and another 12 classics that arrived after registration closed. The GAM also welcomed another 800 guests, for what is the largest crowd in our four years.

"We gave away more than 50 awards, with the major awards being handed out to the following:

"Mike Grindle and his 1987 Autocycle won the Barry Riggs Memorial; Steve Leach and his 1977 Corvette won the Bud Fivecoate Memorial; Jon Schmidt and his 1944 Willys Jeep won the Commander's Trophy, and Bill Pavey and his 1955 Bel Air won the Warbird Trophy.

"George Mize provided great musical entertainment, and the Vohne Liche Kennels provided our visitors with a great show. Our food vendors, HOOS-UR-GRLS, Slappy’s BBQ, Kona Ice of Kokomo and International Circus Concessions provided outstanding food and drink. Our guests also had access to other vendors and exhibitors including Ivy Tech, Chris Ousley’s Allstate Insurance, and Paul Richards GM Center.

"Prizes were handed out and included two flights on a Huey helicopter, courtesy of the American 369 Group, three rides with our own Bob Barr in his T-34 Mentor, two tickets to see the Diamonds in concert, courtesy of Kokomo Community Concert, a bicycle courtesy of Regions Insurance, a suede jacket courtesy of Cass County Ford, and a $50 prepaid Visa card from Security Federal. Many of our area merchants also donated items that were given away to our guests and our car owners.

"The 2013 Warbird Cruise In was sponsored by Paul Richards GM Center, Jeffrey Price Law Office, Beacon Credit Union-West, Gallahan Oil Co., Eye Physicians Inc. and WOW TOYZ.

"We would like to thank all of the companies that supported this year’s car show, including Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Eriks Chevrolet, City Tire of Peru, RockAuto.com, Gateway Classic Cars, Clown Town Motorcycles, O’Reilly’s Auto Parts, AutoZone, NAPA, Johnny Law Motors, Outrageous Apparel, CDB Screen Printing, RDJ Specialties, Family Video, Amelio’s and Ike’s Sports Bar, Pizza Hut of Logansport, Dutch Café, Circus City Grill, Wells Fargo Bank, First Farmers Bank and Trust, Chizzy’s Pizza King, McDonald's, Cole Brothers Water, Marsh, Kroger and Outback Steakhouse.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll