Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 13, 2013

JIM BUCK: Calling all college students, recent graduates

Consider an internship with state Senate

Are you or is some-one you know a college student in need of an internship? The Indiana State Senate is looking for passionate, hard-working students to share their talents during the 2014 session of the Indiana General Assembly.

The Senate Republican Caucus offers paid, spring-semester internships to college undergraduates, graduate students and recent college graduates. Interns work directly with Indiana legislators at the Statehouse, located in downtown Indianapolis.

This is not your typical internship making coffee, copies and filing. Because Indiana is a part-time legislature, the workload of our staff increases exponentially during session. Senate interns are absolutely vital players in the legislative process, taking on the same responsibilities as our staff. Because of their important role, these internships are a full-time, Monday-through-Friday commitment.

Senate internships are broken down by interest area: legislative, communications and information technology (IT). Legislative interns work directly for one to two state senators, analyze bills, assist constituents and staff Senate committees. Communications interns work with Senate press secretaries to coordinate media strategies, which include writing press releases, utilizing social media and working with members of the press. IT interns implement Senate technologies, such as the General Assembly live-stream, and respond to hardware and software needs.

These internships are a unique opportunity to gain practical knowledge of state government while honing a specific career interest. The benefits of this experience are endless. According to data from the National Association of Colleges and Employers, 60 percent of interns land a full-time position as a result. My bet is Indiana Statehouse interns secure a job at an even higher rate.

From January through March, Indiana’s Statehouse is one of the most lively, eventful places in the state. Folks from all types of industries, trades and fields of expertise converge on the capital during session — state policies affect everyone in some capacity or another. This makes the Statehouse a top networking site for current or future job-seekers. Interns will have contact with representatives from the business, education, science and legal communities. These relationships can make the difference when job searching in this competitive economy.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll