Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 13, 2013

JIM BUCK: Calling all college students, recent graduates

Consider an internship with state Senate

Are you or is some-one you know a college student in need of an internship? The Indiana State Senate is looking for passionate, hard-working students to share their talents during the 2014 session of the Indiana General Assembly.

The Senate Republican Caucus offers paid, spring-semester internships to college undergraduates, graduate students and recent college graduates. Interns work directly with Indiana legislators at the Statehouse, located in downtown Indianapolis.

This is not your typical internship making coffee, copies and filing. Because Indiana is a part-time legislature, the workload of our staff increases exponentially during session. Senate interns are absolutely vital players in the legislative process, taking on the same responsibilities as our staff. Because of their important role, these internships are a full-time, Monday-through-Friday commitment.

Senate internships are broken down by interest area: legislative, communications and information technology (IT). Legislative interns work directly for one to two state senators, analyze bills, assist constituents and staff Senate committees. Communications interns work with Senate press secretaries to coordinate media strategies, which include writing press releases, utilizing social media and working with members of the press. IT interns implement Senate technologies, such as the General Assembly live-stream, and respond to hardware and software needs.

These internships are a unique opportunity to gain practical knowledge of state government while honing a specific career interest. The benefits of this experience are endless. According to data from the National Association of Colleges and Employers, 60 percent of interns land a full-time position as a result. My bet is Indiana Statehouse interns secure a job at an even higher rate.

From January through March, Indiana’s Statehouse is one of the most lively, eventful places in the state. Folks from all types of industries, trades and fields of expertise converge on the capital during session — state policies affect everyone in some capacity or another. This makes the Statehouse a top networking site for current or future job-seekers. Interns will have contact with representatives from the business, education, science and legal communities. These relationships can make the difference when job searching in this competitive economy.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll