Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 13, 2013

JIM BUCK: Calling all college students, recent graduates

Consider an internship with state Senate

Are you or is some-one you know a college student in need of an internship? The Indiana State Senate is looking for passionate, hard-working students to share their talents during the 2014 session of the Indiana General Assembly.

The Senate Republican Caucus offers paid, spring-semester internships to college undergraduates, graduate students and recent college graduates. Interns work directly with Indiana legislators at the Statehouse, located in downtown Indianapolis.

This is not your typical internship making coffee, copies and filing. Because Indiana is a part-time legislature, the workload of our staff increases exponentially during session. Senate interns are absolutely vital players in the legislative process, taking on the same responsibilities as our staff. Because of their important role, these internships are a full-time, Monday-through-Friday commitment.

Senate internships are broken down by interest area: legislative, communications and information technology (IT). Legislative interns work directly for one to two state senators, analyze bills, assist constituents and staff Senate committees. Communications interns work with Senate press secretaries to coordinate media strategies, which include writing press releases, utilizing social media and working with members of the press. IT interns implement Senate technologies, such as the General Assembly live-stream, and respond to hardware and software needs.

These internships are a unique opportunity to gain practical knowledge of state government while honing a specific career interest. The benefits of this experience are endless. According to data from the National Association of Colleges and Employers, 60 percent of interns land a full-time position as a result. My bet is Indiana Statehouse interns secure a job at an even higher rate.

From January through March, Indiana’s Statehouse is one of the most lively, eventful places in the state. Folks from all types of industries, trades and fields of expertise converge on the capital during session — state policies affect everyone in some capacity or another. This makes the Statehouse a top networking site for current or future job-seekers. Interns will have contact with representatives from the business, education, science and legal communities. These relationships can make the difference when job searching in this competitive economy.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll